We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added Costs a Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Added Costs a Disappointment”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently stayed at The Clement Monteray whilst attending a Wedding at the Aquarium. Firstly the hotel is in a fantastic location on cannery row with views of the bay from most rooms . We were lucky enough to have a room with a sea view. The room was great with all the facilities you would expect from an Intercontinental Hotel.

However this was one of 6 hotels that we stayed in during our Californa stay and by far the most expensive so it was disappointing to find that it was the only hotel that had added costs for valet parking and Wi Fi.. Come on intercontinental it is these small things that leave a lasting impression despite The Clement and all the staff being fantastic..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KipsterLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,979
    711
    144
    56
    35
See reviews for
936
1,300
98
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We've stayed at other Intercontinentals, so our expectations were fairly high. We were not disappointed. The decor and appointments in the place are understated but elegant. Every staff member greeted us warmly with a smile. The food in the C restaurant and drinks in the bar were outstanding, with great views of the bay. The location just down the block from the Aquarium, and from other Cannery Row attractions made this an ideal place to stay. We certainly did not want to leave.

Room Tip: We didn't get a room on the bay side of the hotel, but we still had a great view of the bay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here while visiting vineyards for several days. The hotel is stellar. Great waterfront location in the heart of Cannery Row, easy walking to many restaurants or nice place in house at "C". Fabulous outside fireplaces (it gets CHILLY here), staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities/rooms/public spaces are well designed, well maintained and beautiful. We had a room across the street away from the water. Very quiet, good size, great bathroom, very comfy beds.Overall I liked the hotel very much. I was with a group so I cannot comment on the value.

I will note the pool is tiny. For one that small they really need to add an endless pool type current 'cause as is the pool is pretty useless. Went to the spa and had a wonderful massage. The spa facilities seemed a bit small....I was not offered a sauna or relaxation room or anything like that but the massage was great so no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent four nights here and loved the place. We had an ocean view room and had great fun watching the seals and sea otters. The cosy fire helped provide a welcome warmth on some of the chillier evenings.

Customer service from start to finish was flawless and effortless. The room was very well appointed and the hotel is well located to take advantage of the fantastic Aquarium. The restaurant is cleverly arranged in that everyone has a sea view, which made breakfast time just lovely. Monterey was an unexpected jewel in our west coast journey and The Clement was the icing on the cake.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trixiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOKOMIS, FL.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a fabulous place!!! It is perfectly located on the water; we did so much enjoyable walking, and never had to get back in the car until we left. Loved the walking/bike path that extends all the way to Pacific Grove!! So beautiful, and easy to walk. Stopped to watch the harbor seals several times, during our long walk. The room itself was so quiet and comfortable. I appreciated the nice touches...live orchid in the bathroom, free bottled water each day, gorgeous bathroom fixtures! Be sure to ask for a water view room, if this is important to you.

Room Tip: Just be aware, due to the excellent location on Cannery Row, parking is one block away, and the char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just checked in after a long work day and drive from SF--gorgeous property, gracious staff in one of the prettiest places in the world and yet... I'm in this nice room with a view of, well of a huge cement wall, down from the public ballrooms. Glad I'm just here one night. You always wonder if they would rather leave the nicest rooms empty than make a frequent traveller blissfully happy with at least some view?!! Might as well be in the middle of nowhere. Whatever you do don't get room 209.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Vicki K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I appreciate the compliments on out hotels staff. We regret your room view was less than satisfactory and apologize for the room allocation. I truly value your comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coastla California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice in the last year and both stays have been excellent. Its an ideal location, right next door to the aquarium, and steps away from many restaurants and cafes. Now do remember, this is a major tourist area so the many shops cater to this customer. The hotel is beautiful and modern. Very clean and the staff is amazingly attentive. The restaurant looks wonderful with view like no other. I never ate here but i reccommend hitting the bar here for happy hour and half price appetizers. This isnt the cheapest hotel in Monterey but definitley worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and our attentive staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,982 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing