We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved to stay more than one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was one of 4 hotels on a 5 night road trip and we all wished we could have stayed longer. Immaculate, bright rooms with huge bathrooms. Separate soaker tub and glass shower with live orchid. Very comfortable bed. Restaurant perfect for breakfast, with great view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building across the street. Very bright and very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Clement Monterey.

It's great to hear that you had such a good time on Cannery Row.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental The Clement Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

A perfect stay and a quiet retreat in a quite busy neighbourhood. Excellent valet parking. So we could make the very best of our short stay at Monterey. With the hotel's ticket we could visit the aquarium twice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_bengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Clement Monterey. We appreciate your feedback and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on Cannery Row.

Kind regards,

John C. Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had such high hopes, which were quickly dashed. We on reservation, with a phone call 1 day ahead, and again on check in clarified that we needed a down/feather free room. So, yep, the room has down pillows, comforter, and feather bed tops!!! This took THREE hours to fix, the whole time, we had to go wondering, change dinner reservations just so that our daughter did not have an asthma attack-- only to be given the same room, minus the down!! At all of the 4-5 star hotels we stay, they have dedicated allergy free rooms, but not here. No apologies, nothing. The pool is literally a one person pool, never seen anything like it ( but not in the good way), if one person is doing laps, that's it, no one else can get in!!! Dead bugs in light fixtures, begging for the right number of towels for our room-- great location, but the rest was awful- pick another place close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMPTmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value guest feedback and take opportunities like this to improve our service.

If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to call me at 831.375.4500.

Kind regards,

John C. Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

When I attemped twice to monitor outdoor courtyard noise so I could have sleep privacy in my guest room above the revelers, it was ended with the clerk barking "security". I then realized it was a re occuring issue of who took preference, sleepers or late night drinkers.
Shame, the hotel is spacious and the ample size rooms do have curtains and efficient AC, but who needs to be encapsuled from the bay sound and fresh air after paying a higher price for a step out balcony and water side view above the busy hotel court yard, open to the public too, also with ubiquitous cell phones. The hotel claims to have a noise late evening curfew but enforcement seems casual.
It really is a grand hotel in many ways, but choose your room location carefully. Cannery Row is a bit hokey, but the very long ocean side trails leading into it surpass Carmels cramped, dark residential streets and contrived quaintness. The Clement shoud serve most people nicely with some clear rules enforcement. If not, shut the windows and draw the curtains, this should dampen ambient noise. To those who love seeing and hearing people constantly, this place is American nirvana. Ya Hoo! Like, have a good day. no problem!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a lovely location. We hired bikes and spent a day cycling in beautiful sunshine taking in the amazing scenery. Credit must be give to one of the bar waitresses "Chelsea" for great service and a winning smile. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank SilverTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent three night stay with us at The Clement Monterey.

I have passed on your gracious comments to the C restaurant General Manager regarding your bar waitress, Chelsea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've been visiting The Clement since it opened, because it's wonderful location - it is right next to the aquarium - it's nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. If you want to stay in that area and an oceanfront room, you should definitely consider The Clement. The restaurant and bar (with outdoor seating) all have an ocean view, so you can see the otters, seals and birds, as well as the occasional dolphin directly while being there.

The breakfast is based on a menu, no buffet, and has the usual options, however very well done: more upscale. It has some healthy morning options, too. However if I would stay for a week, it would get repetitive.

The dinner menu is also well balanced, especially that they use the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch program in their selection, I found very positive.

The hotel is not cheap, especially if you book an oceanfront room (why would you want a room facing the parking structure on the other side, when you are visiting Monterey?).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Clement Monterey. I would like to also thank you for being a loyal guest of ours from the moment we opened in May of 2008.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night but it was beautiful rooms very modern and clean great location in Monterey. They have a really cute fire place in the room very cosy. Valet parking was good no complaints however was charged an extra $3 for having a suburban car, apparently they are extra length!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_relaxed_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Clement Monterey.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $238 - $1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing