We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've been visiting The Clement since it opened, because it's wonderful location - it is right next to the aquarium - it's nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. If you want to stay in that area and an oceanfront room, you should definitely consider The Clement. The restaurant and bar (with outdoor seating) all have an ocean view, so you can see the otters, seals and birds, as well as the occasional dolphin directly while being there.

The breakfast is based on a menu, no buffet, and has the usual options, however very well done: more upscale. It has some healthy morning options, too. However if I would stay for a week, it would get repetitive.

The dinner menu is also well balanced, especially that they use the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch program in their selection, I found very positive.

The hotel is not cheap, especially if you book an oceanfront room (why would you want a room facing the parking structure on the other side, when you are visiting Monterey?).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Clement Monterey. I would like to also thank you for being a loyal guest of ours from the moment we opened in May of 2008.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    650
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
852
1,217
84
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night but it was beautiful rooms very modern and clean great location in Monterey. They have a really cute fire place in the room very cosy. Valet parking was good no complaints however was charged an extra $3 for having a suburban car, apparently they are extra length!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_relaxed_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Clement Monterey.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights during Spring Break. We chose the hotel based on other reviews, and also for the prime location right next door to the aquarium. We were not disappointed! This is an excellent property and it's location is fabulous! We really enjoyed being just steps from the aquarium and also just across from the mirror and laser maze.

We had 3 rooms (2 partial ocean view and (1) 1 bedroom suite). All 3 rooms were spotlessly clean and all had ocean views.
The beds were very comfortable and the bed linens were soft and luxurious. The bath towels were not as high of quality, but were fine. The hotel also accommodated our request to all be located on the same floor.

We ate breakfast twice and dinner once in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good at each meal, and the service was outstanding! Big thumbs up to the staff at the C restaurant!

We recommend this property and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Clement Monterey during your spring break.

With so many options in lodging on the Monterey Peninsula, it is our pleasure to accommodate your family while you enjoyed the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Mirror Maze.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and look forward to having you dine with us again at the C restaurant.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although we only stayed one (1) night on our way from L.A. to San Francisco, it was a great experience. The room we booked was an ocean view suite. The view was awesome and the suite was huge! Great value for the price we paid ($300+). I wish there was more to do in Monterey, so we could have stayed longer! Staff was great and the breakfast we ate in our room was very good. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your "Great Experience" from staying with us at The Clement Monterey and recommending our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, so that you may enjoy the awesome views from our property.

We pride ourselves on obtaining the greatest staff to deliver the quality service that you deserve.

Sincere regards,

John C. Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was driving up the coast to visit family and decided to spend the night in Monterey. Check in was easy and the staff very friendly and helpful...they offered me a home made chocolate bon bon so perhaps I have been bribed, but hey it was a darn good bon bon.

Since I was only in town for the night I thought I might just wander around since I'm never really a fan of hotel bars and food, but there was some sort of corporate retreat here and the bar was filled with people looking to blow off steam.

Long story short, hung out in the bar/restaurant all night with some really drunk insurance people. The bar did actually have an excellent burger and a decent selection of scotch as well as appetizers.

The room was large, clean and comfy and the bed was absolutely awesome.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblinAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

When we were planning our road trip from San Francisco to Santa Barbara, we were trying to decide where we should stay in Monterey. After reading the reviews of Intercontinental The Clement Monterey, we were both delighted and pleased by our choice to stay two nights at this hotel. We had booked the one bedroom suite (with two fireplaces) and the view from the balcony of our room was simply amazing. The service was excellent from the moment we pulled up in our car at the valet station until the day of our departure.

We got fantastic tips and suggestions from the staff manning the reception about meal options and they were happy to make reservations for us as well as give us driving directions without us asking for them. Everyone was very friendly and made us feel right at home.

We couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel is close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and is right on Cannery Row. Although we were charged for parking, the rate was reasonable and the valets were very prompt whenever we requested for our car.

The icing on top of the cake was when we spotted dolphins swimming in the ocean from our balcony. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way down the coast to Los Angeles, and it was well worth
the stop. Very cute little town with many shops and good places to eat. Our room was only a
standard and had no view except for the property next door, but was very comfortable.
I don't know if there is much to do in the area that would warrant a longer stay, but if you
are driving the coast this would be my choice to stop on the way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing