We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$245
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$374
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$294
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$292
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$215
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$179
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,100 results
Traveler rating
2,095
749
154
61
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,095
749
154
61
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannery rowvalet parkingocean frontbubba gumppartial ocean viewbeautiful hotelperfect locationself parkroad tripper dayvalet servicegas fireplaceloved this hotelpacific grovesea ottersrestaurants and shopsbig sur
Filter
Updating list...
1,800 - 1,805 of 3,100 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having decided that just once in our lives we'd like to do an overnight on Cannery Row itself, within 100 yards or so of the Monterey Aquarium, we stopped mid week with no reservations in this "off season". We stopped at the passenger-only white curb in front, and my husband stayed in the car to avoid getting a parking ticket; I went in to ask the price for an ocean view room, got a fairly decent quote and so we decided to stay. But upon check-in we were only then hit with an additional $22.00 for parking and told that breakfast would not be included — despite that the hotel's internet ad stated it was. Our room was surprisingly modern, large, and clean, in contrast with look of the hotel's exterior. We did get a decent view of the ocean but a bit minimal, it being on the other side of a large patio. The bed was very comfortable. We were surprised that there was a charge for the internet, considering we have stayed at to many hotels both in the U.S. and third world countries where wi-fi was available for no cost (we suggest it is time so called first class hotels drop this silly $10 charge.)

Room Tip: Pin down breakfast, parking and wi-fi before signing up. Clarify whether you're getting a room that is right on the ocean or one of the many more instead that overlook the patio.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband, 12 year old son and I only stayed for one night as part of a Fly-drive holiday and it rates as one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was amazing although we were not fortunate enough to get a sea view which would have been even better! After we'd settled in, we had drinks on the patio around a large fire pit, and there were heaters everywhere to keep the evening chill off. The view and ambiance was lovely. We decided to wander up Cannery Row which wasn't in keeping with the hotel: some tatty waste ground and lots of tourist shops although there was a lovely gallery close by. Unfortunately there wasn't enough time in the agenda to explore the rest of Monterey. After checking out the other restaurants we decided to eat at the hotel. The food was very nice although a little on the pricey side. We would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if you can. You'll get an amazing view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited in the off season. On the plus side, quick walk to Monterey Aquarium and warm inside. Room was clean, relatively quiet, pleasant lighting. Nice, fast wifi, connected to iPad right away. Little balcony had view of neighboring restaurants and a couple of chairs. Nicely appointed. Staff were all very nice. Starbucks is just one short block down and across the street, so it's easy to make an early morning coffee run. Restaurant opened too late for our preferred breakfast time. Even room service had late AM service (in our opinion.) On the down side: lots of vacant shops on Cannery Row. Looks like over-priced corporate rents are keeping small business out of the area. Also, the chairs on our little balcony were dirty with bird droppings...in fact, every set of chairs on all the balconies were dirty were bird droppings. So, nice perk, but unusable. Overall location and hotel are nice, but waaayyy overpriced. Even at the off-season rate, two nights with wifi and parking cost over $500. Actual worth in my view: about $200. Stay here if you really want to be very close to the aquarium. However, other 4-5 star hotels are also within very comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skye80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We only stayed here one night, but enjoyed the time we spent here. The hotel is situated right on the waterfront, and is close to restaurants, shops and the wonderful Monterey Bay Aquarium (a visit to this aquarium is a must.) The room was light, airy and very comfortable. We had two rooms between our family of four, so we had plenty of space to move around. The bathroom was clean and modern, and there was an armchair with a fireplace which would be lovely to use in the winter months. The gym and pool facilities were of an excellent standard. I have no complaints about this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaymamaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Holidaymama,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy your time away with your family. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here on our recent honeymoon and very much enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded on arrival at reception by the very friendly reception staff and had a room over looking Cannery row with a partial view of the sea.
The room itself was nice - the bathroom was especially nice and overall the whole hotel felt very modern and new. I loved the Elemis goodies in the bathroom which were a nice touch. Our room also had a fireplace which was a nice unexpected feature.
The hotel has a prime location on Cannery Row and is less than 5 minutes walk from the aquarium (which you have to go to - it's amazing!) . It also has a lovely patio area to the front of the hotel with fire pits which is a great place to relax with a glass of wine from the bar in the evening (we ended up doing this both nights of our stay!). The only downside to the location is that some of the nicer restaurants are location in the middle of Monterey which is quite far from the hotel - however there are some more touristy restaurants around the hotel which were fine from the couple we tried.
The reason they hotel gets 4 not 5 stars is two fold. First the swimming pool and spa area is tiny! The pool is less than 2 metres wide and about 10 metres long (and cold!) - the hot tub is nice enough but it outside and had quite a lot of leaves etc in when we were there. But this was only a minor detraction from the overall experience. The second reason was that overall the hotel felt a little corporate and soulless. Don't get me wrong - all of the staff that we met were friendly but the hotel is quite large so if you are looking for a very romantic boutique experience you might not get that here.
Overall I would recommend the hotel and we had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlinthebigcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear girlinthebigcity,

Congratulations, and we are delighted you spent part of your honeymoon with us! Our courtyard overlooking Monterey Bay is absolutely the perfect place to enjoy a refreshment. We hope to see you again for each and every anniversary of your very special day.

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews