We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Intercontinental Monterey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intercontinental Monterey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Intercontinental Monterey is a beautiful new hotel situated only steps away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium on Cannery Row. The staff provide excellent service and hospitality; we were constantly being asked if we needed help in any way. Views of the bay were wonderful from the room as well as from the outdoor deck that had fire-pits. We asked for an upgrade to a suite and got an enormous one for under 100 bucks extra.

The hotel actually has a kids-club activity room that looked well stocked, though our kids did not actually use it. The fitness room is pretty basic, but had the essentials. There is a lap pool adjacent to the Spa.

If you are looking for a modern, lux hotel right on Cannery Row, this is it. Parking is perhaps the only drawback, as Valet is the only option given the location.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is right on the bay, it's worth the extra cost for an ocean view room. Also is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2000ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear ac2000ny,

Thank you for staying with us while you visited the Monterey area. I am very pleased that you found our associates to be helpful, and enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    649
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
850
1,214
84
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great ocean front room with Fireplace. Wonderful ocean views and watched the sea otters and seals every am from the balcony over the ocean. Service was very friendly, only issue was the bed was a bit soft on each side....if they would replace those would be the best place to stay in Monterey without a doubt. Walking distance to everything, next door to Aquarium though we thought that was overrated compared to others like Atlanta and Omaha. But this hotel was the best. Concierge was very helpful with Anniversary plans and reservations. Would definitely stay again, especially at the right price.

Room Tip: Splurge on the Oceanfront if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear RazorB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey during your recent trip to the area. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views and our Cannery Row location, and found our staff members to be accommodating. We hope to see you again soon here in Monterey.

Best wishes,

John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand City, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We are locals however stayed here on the night of my fiances brothers wedding since it was being held at this hotel. At the very beginning of the night one of the servers during the reception dinner knocked over one of the candles on the centerpieces and the wax completely went all over my fiances tux pants, on my hand and in his drink. I notified the supervisor however she offered to do nothing, obviously mistakes happen but his rented pants were destroyed! I would not write a negative review just for that however it gets worse....

My fiances mother offered us to stay in the bridal room since no one was going to be using it after the wedding and so we wouldn't have to drive home. We were given the key card and all was set except for when we went to go into the room which our stuff was already in at the end of the night they changed the key card on us and we were unable to enter the room (not only was our stuff in the room but so was the brides gown and other items)! When we went down to the front desk to explain the situation they gave us a hell of a time and we ended up having to call my fiances mother past midnight to convince them that we were in fact staying in that room, after a half and hour of hassle we were finally let into the room but were not even given a key!

In the morning I awoke with a headache, the phone did not work so I used my cell phone to call down to the front desk to see if they had any aspirin-I was told no and that I could walk to CVS, what kind of nice hotel (3 stars or above) does not have aspirin or at least offer to get you some!? I could not believe the way we were treated, we will not be recommending this hotel to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Britpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

In November, we stayed for a Saturday night in a Partial Ocean View, King Room with Balcony and Fireplace for a Travelzoo rate of around low to mid $200's per night.  Check-in started off nicely.  They accommodated an early check-in of 2:30 pm.  The only problem was that when we opened the door to our 4th floor room, it had not been cleaned. The bed was completely unmade (see picture).  There was also some trash on the floor to the side of the bed.  We went back downstairs to report our finding and Nick at the front desk was apologetic and quickly re-assigned us a comparable room.  As an apology, he offered us breakfast for the next morning.  We accepted the compensation and went to the new room also on the 4th floor.  After that incident, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Here's what I thought.

Positives
- Large rooms - It had good water pressure, working air conditioning, gas fireplace, easy to open sliding balcony door.
- Large bathrooms - We had both a shower and separate bathtub.  
- Noise - This was minimal from the halls and next door.  Also, the double pain sliding door kept out the noise of two weddings downstairs.  
- Location - Hotel is next door to aquarium and to Bubba Gumps.  Anything else that is Cannery Row is just a 3-7 minute walk away.
- The partial ocean view - This was sufficient in getting that bay experience.  
- The staff (front desk, spa, parking, C Restaurant, housekeeping) -  Friendly, courteous and professional.  No attitude issues.
- The Spa - My wife enjoyed her massage and the gym had 3 Pre-Cores and complimentary headsets.
- C Restaurant - Breakfast was between $8-$15 and despite it being free this time, I would consider eating here again.
- Fire pit courtyard- This was packed with chairs for a wedding in the early evening, but was open to guests by 8. By 11 my wife and I had both pits to ourselves sharing a bottle of Martinelli's apple cider.

Issues for us but may not be for others:
- Parking (about $20 for valet or self) was slightly confusing and inconvenient. Just to give an idea of the layout of the hotel, if I stand at the hotel fire pit courtyard, back facing the ocean, and I walk away from the ocean, the sequence is Building 1, Street 1, Building 2, Bike Path, Parking Garage, Street 2 (entrance to garage). Building 1 and 2 are connected by a walking sky bridge, but the garage is not connected.  So, to get to my car I had to walk out of the hotel, across the bike path and into the parking garage entrance on the bike path.  Close enough. However, later in the night, this entrance was locked, so I had to walk up the hill around the garage to the street 2 garage entrance in order to get in. Confused yet? 
Furthermore, when we drove into the garage for the first time that afternoon to self park, the garage valet person said the self parking was full. He valet'd our car.  Turns out that there are two valet "companies" affiliated with the hotel. The first valet "company" runs the front entrance to the hotel. The second company runs the valet service inside the hotel parking garage. Both companies and self parking park cars in the same garage I believe. The issue was that sometimes the attendant for the garage valet was gone, and a few of the front entrance attendants would pass by me. When I asked the front entrance attendants to help me, they would apologize and refer me to the garage company's attendant. Sorry for the long story but I just thought it was important info. 

Other info and tips
- The pool seems full length but only about 3-4 feet wide or maybe 3 people shoulder to shoulder wide.
- There is a corkscrew for wine in the hotel room. Nothing to open beer bottles, but they have bottle openers at the bar.
- Partial Ocean View rooms on the Bubba Gump side seemed to have full balconies with outdoor chair and table set.  The Partial Ocean View rooms on the fire pit courtyard side are small (extending only about 3 feet from the sliding door) and do not have the outdoor chair and table set.
- At around 11-12 midnight I noticed quite a few customers hanging out outside of the C Restaurant Bar, which is directly below the rooms on the Bubba Gump side (see previous comment) so it could get loud if you like the windows open.  The fire pit courtyard side got real quiet after the 2 weddings which ended around 11 pm so we were able to keep our sliding door open that night, listening to waves and wildlife.

Overall, this stay had a stressful start but was made up for by the end. I would definitely stay here again. Especially when visiting the Monterey Aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaySFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear BaySFtraveler,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, despite the rough beginning. Thank you for sharing your experiences and tips, and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
510 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just got back from four nights at the Clement. Originally we had planned to stay for three nights, but we were having such a wonderful time that we asked if we could extend our stay which wasn't a problem. We didn't have to move rooms and they honored the original rate.

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the aquarium, historical sites, the wharf, shopping and great restaurants. Our room was located on the fourth floor with a fantastic view of the bay.

We only ate one meal at the restaurant - breakfast which was good. We had cocktails in the bar twice. Both the restaurant and the bar are very quiet and not very busy.

We have stayed at several places in Carmel, the Valley, Pebble Beach and Monterey, but the Clement is by far the best place we have stayed on the peninsula. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear linnbada,

We are quite pleased to be on your list of local favorites, and appreciate your comments. There are so many things to do in the Monterey Bay area, that even a 4-night stay may not be long enough to experience everything. We hope you will be back soon to continue exploring the area.

Best wishes,

John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here after 5 nights at Mark Hopkins so high expectations! Expectations were more than met.

Extremely friendly reception staff and a nice chocolate offered! Sought a different room and they tried to accommodate and were apologetic when they couldn't. Lovely big room and bathroom (double bed) with a partial ocean view (looked over fire pits). Loved waking up to the sounds of the sea lions.

Having not been well the menu did not appeal (but did sound great) but they happily accommodated the special request for toast for dinner.

Valet were prompt and super helpful with advice on getting the top down on the car!

Loved the location in Monterey and the fact you could get your aquarium tickets from Concierge avoiding the long lines at the aquarium itself.

My gripe with the hotel though is not sending through updated accounts post check out.

Would be great to have the club lounge here - really appreciated that service at the Mark Hopkins. But otherwise was treated well as an Ambassador - fruit, water and a bar of chocolate in the room.

Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFlyingKiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear SydKiwi,

I am very sorry to hear that you were not feeling well during your travels, but we hope you will visit us again when you can more fully enjoy Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay area. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at InterContinental The Clement Monterey.

Warm wishes,

John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Leaving San Francisco in the Morning we turned South on Highway One - all the way down the Coastline. Fantastic scenery!
Arriving in Monterey in the early Afternoon, we left the Car at the Valet and entered the Hotel - Room not ready yet, but we could leave the baggage at the Hotel and go for a Walk, exploring the Village. Returning late Afternoon, the Room was ready and was facing the Waterfront - really cool, one could see the seals swimming! They had a Fitness Center too and a (really really small) Swimmingpool. The Room was nice, only thing is, the Bedroom was facing away from the light, no window there, so it was dark as a Cave..Not so good! Still, we would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus122211211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Klaus,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the amazing ocean views and our historic Cannery Row locale. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip along the California coast.

Sincerely,

John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing