We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Cannery Row- tip: ocean view rooms are best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a charming and modern luxury hotel in the heart of Cannery Row, a short walk from the Monterey Aquarium and Ed Rickett's lab.

It offers excellent accommodation, with a stylish ambience.

The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spacious- I recommend the ocean view rooms. You should note there are two accommodation buildings- the "rear" building is accessed via an overpass, and it's on the other side of the road.

It's a good base to enjoy the local scenery.

There's an excellent restaurant, as well as other dining options nearby.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear AdelaidianTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and enjoyed the room and local scenery. I hope that your travel plans have you returning to the Monterey area and back to InterContinental The Clement Monterey!

Warm regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Enjoyed the rooms with fireplace. Staff and environs were nice. Asked for a quiet room and was put in the back which overlooked the walking path which was nice too when you see people walking running cycling in the mornings. Recommend staying for convenience and excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear eyoh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Monterey. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy a quiet room and the fireplace. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental The Clement Monterey!

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent sized, well equipped room with view of the ocean (across street), balcony and fireplace. Stay was Fri/Sat nights and bar had great live entertainment. Staff very helpful and friendly and provided excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear BusinessBear,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at InterContinental The Clement Monterey. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the live music at The C Restaurant and the friendly service from our team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!! Need I say more....! Literally steps from the beach, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and Canery Row! Oh and Bubba Gumps! The service staff is amazingly friendly and helpful and so kind! The rooms are clean and comfy and you feel like royalty when you stay there! Enjoy the fire pits at night that are located over looking the ocean! The Gym is great and the little pool and spa are a treat for any age! We have taken our little guy there twice now and it has been such a relaxing and fun trip each time! We will be back!

Room Tip: room with a view is highly recomended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristineC1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear KristineC1971,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Monterey. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our central location on Cannery Row. I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a business trip with me, but my parents were in town so I asked them to join me. We had a great room on the 3rd floor overlooking the water/retail area. The room was great and included a fireplace. Very quiet as we could not hear any noise outside of the room. The hotel layout is a bit tricky though with two buildings and an overstreet walkway. It took a few minutes to reach our room from the lobby, but this is all manageable. They provide wheelchairs for the handicapped and all is easily accessible, though lengthy. The staff was very helpful with our wheelchair needs for my dad.
If you like older charming hotels this is not it. That is my one criticism. It is all clean and new, but it does lack in ambiance.
The hotel is right in the heart of Cannery Row. Whatever you do, don't go to Fisherman's Wharf for dinner. The Fish Hopper is easy walking from the hotel and looks fantastic. We went to the Wharf and regret that we did.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeathCalabasas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear HealthCalabasas_CA,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental The Clement Monterey during your recent trip to the area. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your parents and found our team members helpful. I hope you are able to return soon!

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were sent to this hotel after the one we had reserved was over booked. We didn't regret one moment staying at the Clement. From the moment the valet greeted us, to the wonderful desk staff and then to our bay view room, it was a delightful stay.Our room was equipped with every amenity as well as a huge bathroom, fireplace and lovely balcony overlooking the bay as well as part of Cannery Row.
Our service, appealing and clean room, and the great staff were 5 star rated in our opinion. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd request an upper level room for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Morganmom,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found all aspects to be 5-star. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. Rooms have modern decor, nice bathroom, good bed/linens and was clean. I was expecting a little more luxury for the cost but was good enough.

Plan on $20/night for garage parking unless you opt for street parking like we did. Parking is free if you're willing to walk up-hill 5 blocks and park on Laine Street. Not for everyone but it worked for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffyncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear fluffyncream,

Thank you for choosing to stay with InterContinental The Clement Monterey during your recent trip to the area. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, particularly the guest room. I hope you return again soon!

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,543 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $188 - $935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing