We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Nearby Hotels
$240
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$272
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$246
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$341
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$92
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,090)
Filter reviews
3,090 results
Traveler rating
2,088
747
153
61
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,088
747
153
61
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannery rowvalet parkingbubba gumpocean viewbeautiful hotelperfect locationself parkper dayvalet servicegas fireplaceloved this hotelsea otterspacific groverestaurants and shopsaquarium ticketsbig surmain building
Filter
Updating list...
2,065 - 2,070 of 3,090 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in March with husband & kids (ages 4 and 6) in an ocean-front suite. We loved everything about this hotel. The room was beautiful & decorated tastefully, the bed was literally heaven, complimentary bottled water and good-quality coffee, and all the amenities you could possibly want. Of the 12 meals we ate out during our vacation, 6 of them were at The C restaurant in the hotel - the food was so good, we kept going back. Especially breakfasts! Every single hotel employee we interacted with was friendly and responsive. For example: I received a 30+ page document by email while there, and I really needed a hard copy. I called the front desk and talked to Jaeson, and he had me forward the document to his personal Gmail account. He printed it out for me and had it ready within 1/2 hour to pick up. So nice! And Lucille, the concierge, was helpful - thanks for sending us to the Whaling Station for dinner! So yummy. Everyone was pleasant and our kids were treated like royalty. We enjoyed drinks & desserts brought to us by the fireplace in the lounge, and out on the beautiful deck while we took in the awesome views. There's nothing to complain about here and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a terrific hotel. We had an oceanfront suite, which consists of two room (one with king bed and living room with queen sleep sofa) and TWO full bathrooms (one is shower only). A family of four could easily stay here. The bedroom has a balcony with chairs on the water, and we heard the sound of the waves all night. Plus two gas fireplaces, bathrobes, slippers, the works.

The location is perfect...steps to the aquarium. We had room service dinner and the food was also terrific. My swordfish was moist and tasty and two diners loved the burgers. The fitness center had top notch Life Fitness equipment (the pool is very small though). The public spaces in the lobby are also lovely.

Yes, it's not cheap. But it was less expensive than the Monterey Plaza down the street and for more room. Plus, if you would get two separate rooms anywhere else, this suite is not out of line.

Room Tip: Anything on the ocean side. There is another building across the street.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived at The Clement, our stay in Monterey was phenomenal. We travel frequently and have stayed at many five star hotels, but the staff at The Clement was above and beyond just about any other front desk staff I've ever encountered. They TRULY welcome you to the hotel. They are extremely professional, yet fun, friendly, and genuinely warm in a way that is seldom seen at most hotels. Not just one or two of the staff...All of them. They include a tour of the property immediately after finishing the check in process. One of my favorite things is the daily fresh fruit (local grown clementines) available at the front desk. Valet parking is available at a reasonable charge and the bell staff was nice enough to store my beach cruiser bike I'd brought along on the trip so I wouldn't have to keep it in the room (as I'd had to do at other hotels.) You're right in the heart of Monterey at this location and it's possible to stay here and not need a car. I HIGHLY recommend that you make the nearby drive to Carmel by the Sea (only 10minutes by car) and do the scenic drive to Big Sur (about an hour there and back, but we pulled over every 2miles to take pictures.)
The Clement has a great lounging area with floor to ceiling windows and outdoor seating available too with heat lamps/fire pits that overlooks the water. The hotel restaurant offers a wide array of great food. It's the hotel of choice for celebrities as well! I was thrilled to be seated at the booth next to Randy Jackson (of The Jackson Family...Michael, Janet, Jackson5) and had a nice conversation with him after breakfast. This hotel is perfect for pretty much everyone..business travelers, couples, families, friends or solo travelers. If planning a wedding I would Highly recommend The Clement! There are several wedding books available for viewing right in the lounge showing past weddings and receptions and they look amazing. The rooms at the hotel are spacious with very high ceilings (approximately 12 ft.) making the rooms seem cavernous. The bed is Very, very comfortable, making it a pleasure to return to the hotel and your room after a long day. By the way, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is only about a block or two away on the same street. Probably one of the finest aquariums in the world. Finally, The Clement is immaculately clean and uncluttered. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gadgetguy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you are going to Monterey, you must stay at The Clement! Do not even bother looking at the other properties as they just do not compare. You can not beat the location of this hotel. It is literally an ocean front property as it sits on a pier on the water. The Aquarium is no more than a 2 minute walk from the hotel's front door. All of the shops and restaurants of Cannery Row are directly outside. Bubba Gump restaurant and the hotel are basically on the same property as they are right next to eachother. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and out. The lobby has a modern feel and design and the front desk staff were all excellent, well informed and very friendly and competent. The valet staff were very professional as well, and our car was always waiting for us before the time it was promised. We stayed in an ocean front king suite with a balcony. The views were incredible. You can see the entire bay, seals, otters, kayakers, boats, birds etc. The views were breathtaking. The room was two separate rooms with one being a living area with sitting area, balcony, bathroom, fireplace and tv. The bedroom was well appointed with a tv, fireplace, armoir, large ocean front window and a larger bathroom with two sinks, separate soaker tub and shower. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were soft and clean. We can not wait to return to The Clement! We will never stay anywhere else when visiting Monterey!

Room Tip: Book an ocean front room in the off season as rooms during peak season are double the price.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreTripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel was amazing..... We totally loved it. Such a fantastic location right in the centre on the water!! They have an outside decking area with heaters and fires overlooking the ocean, which is fantastic we sat out watching the sunset having some lovely Californian wine. Looking at the other hotels around this really did look like the best one. They have a lovely pool too and Jacuzzi. We stayed in a standard room and it was huge and so was the bathroom. Exceptionally clean and fantastic facilities - starbucks coffee maker in the room. Staff were brilliant and breakfast was again fantastic views overlooking the ocean - couldn’t have asked for anything more.

Monterey is beautiful - We did wine tasting and had a wonderful meal at the Fish Hooper restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews