We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa experience positive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I'm a local and regular at the Spa at the Clement. I was motivated to post a review because recently new management took over and it is vastly improved. I had come a few times during the previous management and went elsewhere, but when I heard there was new management, I gave it another try because I like the location. I've been four times and have found the new management to be gracious and attentive, very customer-oriented, professional, and the decor is tasteful. It isn't a spacious, grand environment like the rest of the hotel, but rather more intimate, and though there are many elaborate choices in this area, I come here for the solid, quality service. (BTW I travel a lot, stay in 5-star accommodations, and have been to many spas — I believe I have a good sense of what's available internationally.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JHCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,973 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

I'm stayed here several times and the service, down to the last person, has always been excellent and the rooms and facilities spotless. Ladies, I have well over a hundred facials and spa experiences and I can say this was of the top two worst. Do not go!!
I arrived at my appt for my facial the typical 15min early. I waited in a small, empty reception room for 7 minutes - an employee in her early 20's ducked her head in once and looked at me then ducked right back out, no greeting or ask for why I was standing there. A couple minutes she came back in and asked if she could help me and I explained I had an appointment. She took me in to the small "relaxation room" next to the reception area and asked me to wait. No offer of tea, coffee, water, bathrobe, bathroom or any other typical spa offering. This relaxation room is literally less than 10 feet and separated by a large glass double-door from the pool where several children (nothing against kids but most women go to the spa to get AWAY from the screaming, not be seated next to it). Several minutes later a young man in his 20's came in and asked if I would like some water... which he then produced in a 4-oz paper Dixie cup. No kidding.
By now, my facial was 10 minutes past due. I was the only customer. At the 14-15 min point, another young woman came in and said she was making the bed and would be with me in a few minutes. When she came back out, my service was now 20 min late in starting, 4 children were loudly enjoying the pool 10ft away, I had finished my 3oz of room-temperature water and was still in my clothes and winter coat.
I was taken to another room for my service which was very clean, but ladies, you'll need to bring your coathanger if you don't want to get undressed and throw your clothes on the back of a chair - no sign of a bathrobe, closet, bathroom, or coathanger for that matter.
It was a 50min service and did go the whole time despite starting late but the young girl providing the service, though very nice, really had no idea what she was doing. After 50 min of awkwardly applying creams she said, "Okay, we're done." and - no kidding - immediately got up and walked out the door. No "How was it?" No "Here's a mirror..." No "Can I get you anything?" Just "Okay, we're done" on her way out the door.
$145 dollars later, I left, now understanding why I hadn't seen a single other customer.
But wait, that's not all! I have normal skin. No sensativities, no alergies, no medications, not pregnant, don't smoke, nothing, and I'm in my late 30's. I've used the same skin cream (La Prairie) for years. Never had any reactions to a facial.... until now. I am now walking around Monterey with itchy, red, flaking skin covering most of the right side of my face from my forehead to under my chin. It looks really awful and feels like it looks.

I will happily return to this hotel for meals and the overnight stays - but I'll will avoid the "spa" like the plague.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

From Liz at the front desk, to Mark ~ who does it all ~ to Rosa in catering who helped me out (unsolicited) with my "housekeeping" issues..hands down the best staff I've ever encountered. Add that to a beautiful hotel and location..can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental and had a fabulous time. It is nestled right on the water and on the historic Cannery Row. The staff is great. We went down to the C Bar and the bartenders were wonderful. You can simply walk out of the Clement and go shopping on Cannery Row, go to the Aquarium, or have your choice of a variety of restaurants. Absolutely recommend it. Very clean and trendy rooms as well. Don't forget to go to the Wharf and see the seals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Clement is the only choice in Monterey area. Phenomenal location next to aquarium on cannery row. Beautiful views from ocea n view rooms. Very classy and stylish. Everything is thought of. A wonderful place to say. Very new property as well! Vince one of the managers was great to work with as well

Room Tip: If can afford it the ocean view/front rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerrySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hotel location is right in middle of Cannery Row close to the Aquarium. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were top notch and very comfortable. Although they have fireplaces in some rooms, they are the small gas type. More for a little show then romance or heat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel is right on the bay with a great deck. Have a glass of wine and sit by the fire pit. Watch the boats and birds go by. Rooms have high class finishes and a spacious bathroom. Great for families as it is right next to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. This is not a huge hotel and has some of the characteristics of a boutique hotel, but all the services of a destination resort. The pool area is small, just a lap pool and a hot tub, but well protected from the wind. The spa is small but the service is excellent. One of the best massages I have ever had. the hotel restauraunt , "C" is expensive, but well worth it. Again the service was outstanding. If you are looking for a less expensive alterantive, there are a variety within a block. Talk a walk up the coastal trail towards Pacific Grove.

Room Tip: Rooms have a variety of views. Not all are on the water, but the street views are interesting. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannea392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $206 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing