We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 5-star stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost a 5-star stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

The parking was a little bit chaotic (self parking is down the road), and the check-in friendliness was adequate, the room pleasantly decorated. Pool was perfectly heated (yet clearly for laps only), and the jet spa seated 5. We purchased the Monterey Bay Aquarium package which included 2 adult tickets to the Aquarium. My only hangup with this hotel, perhaps due to my own misunderstanding, was that we were charged $21 for the sea otter stuffed animal that had been placed in our room. I mistook it for a part of the package deal. I didn't ask the question, however I didn't even consider I would be charged for it as a incidental. This could have been clearer.

Room Tip: Ocean view means a lot less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_Lopez_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    620
    125
    53
    30
See reviews for
812
1,164
81
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

A gorgeous hotel with fantastic views in Monterey. We only stayed one night, but I would have loved to say there for much longer.

Pluses:
Everything is fantastic here - location, service, views, variety of restaurants
Location - right on cannery row, right by the ocean with fabulous views, there's a great F&B outlet within the hotel, but if you choose to eat outside of the hotel, there's lots of choices within a short walking distance. In fact, we had a fantastic meal (steakhouse) that is totally value for money at the Whaling Station less than 10mins walk from the hotel.
Room - We had the King Deluxe room, even comes with a fireplace, and a small little balcony, just good enough to stand outside. And the most gorgeous direct view of the water with completely no blockage. You can sit inside your room and look out on a beautiful day and catch sight of sea otters, even schools of dolphins. The view is pure relaxation!
The F&B outlet has a bar, service was pretty alright, but to sit outside on a chilly night with a fireplace that heats up, stand up heaters right behind you, and blankets to keep you warm.

Minuses:
I can't think of any!

Room Tip: Pay for a room with ocean view. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

The hotel is clean, bright, roomy and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would have nothing bad to say except that they market the rooms as having a 'partial ocean view', which is completely false. The room faces an inner courtyard so to see the ocean you have to step out on a 'balcony' - which is a steel plate about 8 inches wide - and look hard to the side. Instead of coming away feeling good about our stay, I felt like I had been manipulated by marketing efforts. The hotel is so nice, they don't need to play that game - it's disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherabeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

we booked a room on our anniversary for a night and paid extra big bucks for an ocean view room when we got there the room we got was at the back of the hotel facing canary row. we complaint about it and they maid us wait for 2 hours when we only had 3 hours of day light left to enjoy the ocean view than they said they don,t have ocean view room even though we booked the hotel 3 weeks a go so we went to an other hotel and decided never choose that hotel again they did not do any thing to fix there mistake such an attitude.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sofiaambreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel is VERY comfy, and if you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of tourist street scene of Cannery Row, the Intercontinental is the place. Our room was overlooking the main drag of Cannery Row, and it was pretty noisy. The bars stay open until "late30",so with the windows open you can hear the party pretty clearly. Really the location of our room (third floor facing and across the street from the main hotel) felt like staying in New York or Atlanta from a crowd and noise standpoint. The beds were great, and the room well appointed new and very chic. The staff was excellent, and very helpful. Parking was either valet or self-parking, but both were expensive...$18 for self park and $20 for valet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Proper hotel in a terrific location right next to the Monterey aquarium. Very comfortable very quiet. Nice big room with gas fire, very comfortable bed and enormous bathroom. Sensible price. A real find.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Intercontinental The Clement in Monterey is my favorite place to stay on the Monterey Peninsula for so many reasons. The property is newer and has bright rooms that are nicely furnished. The location is perfect! Located adjacent to the aquarium, it is right on the bay! There is no place I would rather spend the evening in Monterey than here. The bar and restaurant have beautiful views of sailboats cruising the bay. There is an outdoor area with fireplaces right on the bay. A common site: Sea Lions playing in the water and having a treat! To top ot off, the staff here is so amazing! So friendly and accomodating. I am always greeted with a smile! Michael and Jevon in the front are always fantastic! And Luis Salinas at the bar not only mixes some delicious libations but he is so attentive. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when I visit Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFiend-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing