We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to eat in Monterey!”

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #93 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat in Monterey!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went to the restaurant to please my friend who was spending the holidays in Monterey, CA from Paris, France. We both agreed this restaurant was by far the best place we have had lunch in a very long time. Patty was our server and she was great. She really went the extra mile because my friend did not speak English very well but is rather good in Spanish, so she provided service in Spanish. She even adapted her service and time to my friend’s customs since European people need more time than Americans. The presentation and the taste of the dishes and drinks were delightful. We were so impressed that we ended our meal with desserts. My French friend said these desserts were the only ones up to the level of French desserts. We will return and we will recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bozacito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    66
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have been to this location many times, for lunch only, and have always had great service and friendly interactions with the staff. The food is fresh and hot and comes out of the busy kitchen very quickly. I tried a new Pesto Pasta with Chicken yesterday and it was very good. The sauce was a creamy pesto with sun-dried tomato. Add a little parmesan and red chili flakes and voila.
They also have a policy that if you do not like what they bring you, they will take it back and bring you something else. I don't know how you can go wrong with that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I eat here a few times every month. Food is very tasty and there is a wide selection of dishes. The Avacado roll platter is so yummy. The Thai Chicken pizza ~ Wow!
Good selection of Wines too!
Very nice place to relax, not just a pizza joint. Try it you won't be sorry. It's our go-to place anytime.
KC, Max-C & Andy
Monterey

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxC93940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birr, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Value”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Quality food, reasonably priced. We shared a Pizza and Salad. Place was full when we were there, lots of families, great buzzy atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Biffos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirksville
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food was excellant and the service was great. Located right in a mall parking lot. Close to all the stores there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank indycargirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing