We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street from Abrego”
Review of El Palomar

El Palomar
Ranked #232 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clayton
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Across the street from Abrego”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was a single diner and was given a table in the bar area. It was uncrowded, only two other tables were occupied. Service was attentive and the food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dokepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good cocktails”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We’d planned to eat at the Krua Thai but bizarrely it was closing at 8.45pm on a Saturday night. We spotted the sign for El Palomar and thought we’d give it a try. The special margaritas were great although they were deceptively strong. I had 3 and the room span a little as I got up to leave. I had carne asada tacos and my husband a burrito. They were both good and the portion size was generous. Service was also friendly and attentive. It’s far from the best Mexican food I’ve ever had but the bill would’ve been very reasonable if I hadn’t ordered so many cocktails! A decent option if you are staying in this area of town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the third time we've eaten here and the food has always been very good. The service is good, the staff was friendly and polite and the place was clean.
It wasn't too busy so we didn't have to wait. All around we had a good dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Should be called el Malomar”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The restaurant was practically empty, clue number one. We ordered drinks. My Madori Margarita was super strong. They have an outdoor dining area with firepits which looked nice. I ordered a shredded beef enchilada and taco. I got a big plate with smidgens of food here and there. The beans tasted good but not freshly made. Rice was ok not salty. My enchilada had a large chunk of brown gelatinous substance. Wasn't beef fat. both the taco and enchilada barely had any actual meat. The flavor was bland. My husbands liked his burrito. He too had the brown chewy globs. The waitress just laughed when I asked her identify the blobs. Guess she didn't think I was serious. The restaurant turns into a Latin night club at 10 on Friday and Saturday. Plays good music. Probably the only good thing about this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Choli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento,ca
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice place to eat”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Food was good and abundant. Service was great. Kind of hidden so look for it in the rear of a small shopping area

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1960vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palomar also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to El Palomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing