We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food! ”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #35 of 328 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch
Description: Every Black Bear Diner believes in two things — fantastic service and delicious food. That’s why we go out of our way to find the greatest employees that Monterey has to offer and make them a part of our family. You can see the camaraderie in every step they take, especially when they’re delivering food to your table that they just know you’re going to absolutely love.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every time I visit Black Bear Diner, I generally have wonderful service and great good! They are able to accommodate my dairy-free dietary restrictions, which is a bonus!

This restaurant is very busy on the weekends, but the wait is not very long during the week!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 794meaganw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We picked this while staying at the Embassy Suites and the first night María our waitress was wonderful and the food was great. We asked our 3 boys the next day were they wanted to go and it was a resounding yes to go back the Black Bear. Our waiter was Rosario and he was awesome, making sure we had everything we needed and even preparing a special dessert for us to all share. Wonderful service and food is tasty on both nights and I would recommend if you are staying in the Monterey area.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Wait staff was very attentive but had a bit of a wait for food due to large party ordering just before our arrival. Staff rushing from table to table to kitchen to keep up with service but a good place to eat. I think its actually in city of Seaside. Taco salad was extra large!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

Love the breakfast at Black Bear Diner in Monterey! Especially when it's served by our favorite server Lan. She is attentive, caring, friendly, & always gets our meal right. She remembers all the extras we request before we ask. She is so special because she will fill our coffee cup before it's empty, bring us extra napkins without having to ask twice like with other servers, remembers all of our special requests so our meal is cooked right, & she brings everything we asked for when our meal arrives! Lan is an exceptional server, we always ask for Lan & we're never disappointed! She's the best!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Excursion771939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Came for a good meal and just sit and talk, no big rush just nice place to eat that was a reasonable price.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 996kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 
Seaside, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing