We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beary good!”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #40 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beary good!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great food and great service - true, it's just a diner, but the food is really nice, there's lots of variety, and the individual pies for dessert are amazing (especially if you have them a la mode).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank purringcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    89
    33
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service, Horrible Food.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've lived in Monterey for almost a year now and decided to come here before we leave permanently at the end of the week. They told me they did an entire revamp of their whole menu just the week or so before we came in. I ordered the chicken fried steak with garlic fries and carrots as side options (as of now they don't have their side options listed so you have to annoy your waiter/waitress, she claims it is because there is so many). I had a salad with ranch as a starter (my meal came with it) and that was typical. It came with cornbread which I gave to my husband since he didn't have any sort of starter. He said it was good. When I first got my plate it looked good but the smell of garlic overpowered EVERYTHING and it was so strong I just wanted to throw up. I was expecting a light dash of garlic powder or something but it was a PILE of what looked like jarred minced garlic in the middle of my fries. The carrots were only half done. They were almost raw with some slight softness in a couple of them. My chicken fried steak (I got the smaller one) was relatively good but too much pepper for my taste. It wasn't terribly overpowering though. I tried to munch on the fries but the garlic was just too much. I was stuck eating what little fries I could that didn't have garlic with some ketchup as they were rather tasteless alone.

My husband got the chicken club(?) with bacon and avocado on it (he is an avocado LOVER!) and he said that it was pretty decent. He got normal fries.

This is coming from a person that is happy with just about anything as long as its food I don't already dislike. I wouldn't eat there again. Also, they do have huge portions as everyone states but I agree that portion size doesn't make up for taste... it just adds to overeating. My waitress was very friendly though and I was happy that we at least got to take advantage of the military discount. Honestly I wish I would have made my last "nicer" (something besides fast food) meal in Monterey something else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Good food for the price paid.
The service was fast and kind.
Good place to eat, i would recommand it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank arm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the way to auto races”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This diner is close to highway 1 on the way to the Laguna Seca Raceway. We like to get to the races when they open at 8 am, and a hearty breakfast at the Black Bear is a good start to a long day at the races. I had chicken fried steak with eggs and one of their huge biscuits. Their potatoes aren't the usual hash browns - grated in wider strips - but very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeoTheGreyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We always look for a BLACK BEAR Dinner to eat at whenever we are on the road. We found them many years ago when we were Nordic Skiing at Mt. Shasta where they first opened up. The food and service are always great at all their locations. There is always ample amounts to fill us up. This restaurant was no exception. Large portions of meat with delicious side dishes. Fresh ice tea

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldsaltCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Seaside, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing