We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends had raved about Luckys”
Review of Lucky's

Lucky's
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucky's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Montecito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Olive Mill Road
Description: LUCKY'S is widely known for its exclusive selection of USDA Prime steaks, live Maine lobsters, no-nonsense cocktails and world class wine cellar. LUCKY'S remains one of a rare few to honor the no nonsense steak dinner traditions. From the moment you’re greeted at you car by the valet, seated at your table, encouraged to roll up your sleeves, martini in hand, you are served. Are you ever served!There’s just no other eatery in Santa Barbara that practices the art of serving a prime steak dinner better than LUCKY'S.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friends had raved about Luckys”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

So we decided to give it try while vacationing in Santa Barbara. I ordered a ny strip and my wife had petite fillet. Both were prepared as requested. While they were very good for the price they charge we would have expected them to be a little better. We ordered a side of hash browns with some grilled onions. They brought out mashed potato's with grilled onions.
They actually were very good!

The atmosphere is classic Hollywood steakhouse with lots of old pictures and memorabilia. They have a very active bar scene which is separated from the dining room so you don't get all the noise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    61
    37
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Mother's Day Brunch”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Food was high quality. But what set the experience apart was the service. Steven, you are a gem. Polished, professional service. I cannot wait to try Luckys for dinner. It is hard to get in for dinner without advance planning, which we are not good at. Luckys is buildig a well-deserved reputation for consistent food, great service, with a sophisticated, neighborhood vibe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trippin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little pricey, but a good weekend scene”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We go at least once a year and always have a consistent experience - great food and service, but definitely a little pricey. Great lemon drops in the bar and definitely a scene if you are into that!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MN_Traveler_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited Lucky's based on a recommendation from somebody local to the area who said they served great food, that certainly turned out to be the case! I can say without doubt that the best steak I had during my recent trip to California was at Lucky's. It's not the kind of restaurant where they are trying to reinvent the wheel with the menu, it was just good quality, well cooked food with a good wine selection.

I notice there seem to be a lot of comments from people about this being a celebrity hangout and the place to be seen. It didn't really feel like it had that vibe to me; as somebody from London where there are many such pretentious places, it didn't have that air to it. I'm sure such comments are likely because with Montecito being an extremely affluent area to live, and a second home to many celebrities, that you are likely to see somebody at Lucky's just because its such a small place. Based on my brief time there, Montecito seemed fairly sleepy, so it makes sense with Lucky's being the only place that really even looked open with a buzz about it.

I'd recommend this place and would be more than happy to go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amazing steaks! Visited two days in a row and the steaks were world class + excellent service and a good bar selection. Having visited the two top rated SB restaurants in TripAdvisor listing – I think this is the real no. 1

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABD119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing