We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Dell Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here with my Family for 2 nights. This a typical forest lodge in a beautiful setting in the redwoods. We had a room with a small bacony facing the river. Room was very clean and perfect for our short stay. We were visiting my parents who have a small cabin near by. We spent mostly all day and evenings with them that's why I cannot rate the Food at the lodge. Also if I was staying longer, it would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room.
Breakfast- perfect! STRONG delicious coffee, eggs made to order, müesli, Juice, homemade scones etc.. also they served breakfast till 10:00 which is great. Overall perfect stay, and you cannot beat the views/Setting- FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: I don't know what the other rooms are like, but it's worth it to get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allyjou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great room and historic too nestled in the peaceful woods. We found this lodge to be just perfect for our visit and after our overnight stay wished we had a few more days to enjoy there! Rooms were roomy, spotless and so comfortable with a great view of the river below. The breakfast was plentiful and so good....eggs, yogurt, sausage and so much more to choose from! The staff is wonderful and helpful and the german food is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay at ths wonderful historic hotel for three nights with the wife and grand kids. The rooms were older( historic) small but clean, bathroom updated and had a balcony with a river view. Breakfast every morning was included with attention towards the children. The menu varied but mostly scrambled eggs, bagels, bacon and even pancakes one day. Had a wonderful german dinner one night at the restaurant which overlooked the river. The dining room is modern, large with beam ceilings. I am told, quite the setting for weddings. The dinner was great and the entire staff tried very hard to make you feel at home. Both Ingrid and Herwig who own the hotel are very accomodating and friendly. One night we practally had the entire hotel to ourselves. Monte Rio is a quiet spot on the river but yet close enought to Jenner, Armsrtong Grove, and other activities along the river.
You wont go wrong with a stay at this historic and charming hotel. Will certainlyplan to return , the next time we visit thre river.

Room Tip: River view with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 78reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved the look and the location of the Highland Dell Lodge. The staff was friendly and always available to help. We were pleasantly surprised by the great food and enjoyed a lovely dinner overlooking the river. We only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: The top floor is amazing with a great view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Historic building with nicely updated rooms. The bar/restaurant/deck overlooking the bend in the river is very relaxing. The inn keepers are appropriately friendly and helpful. This is not a get-up-early-hit-the-road place with buffet breakfast at 0800. We were there early in the week. This is a sleepy, quiet out-of-the-way place. It is an entertainment and event venue, so check their schedule. Would return to just enjoy the surroundings. Food excellent.

Room Tip: Take a look at them. Each one is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camel_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Staff very accommodating.. Sea food special very reasonably price and excellent. Home made Apple Strudel was very European and again excellent. Continental Breakfast included Quiche and warm bagels.. Setting of the Deck overlooking Russian River stunning. Rooms nice but old fashioned like one would expect from an Inn built at the turn of the century. We would go back if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HiltonHeadFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great little hotel. Took a river view room for $128 and it was good value. Comfortable beds, nice view, and a really wonderful breakfast. I suspect it would be a bit noisy if it was busy (it was almost empty when we visited) as the rooms are not terribly well soundproofed.

Monte rio is a bit nil, not much to it. Had a nice couple of days in the area, but monte rio is not a destination in itself. Recommend a trip to Jenner on the coast, the armstrong redwood park at guerneville, an a kayak trip on the river.

Saw a river otter and lots of ospreys from the hotel balcony which was cool.

If you're taking in monte rio I can recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BenInBritiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
5.3 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
124 reviews
15.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
127 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Northwood Lodge & Resort
Northwood Lodge & Resort
#1 of 1 in Monte Rio
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Rio Villa Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Monte Rio
78 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Dell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Dell Lodge

Address: 21050 River Blvd, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9781
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price Range: $128 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1906, the historic Highland Dell is a very popular destination for San Francisco and Bay Area families as it was throughout the 20th century. Surrounded by century old redwood trees and overlooking the Russian River, it is an ideal place for a vacation or weekend get-away. The Highland Dell offers well appointed lodging, and a fine gourmet restaurant, complete with a full service bar. A variety of exciting activities are available within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Highland Dell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Dell Hotel Monte Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing