We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel by the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

When my wife and I arrived at the Village Inn we weren't too sure what to expect as it was dark and we did not expect neon lights to greet us. Stepping into the reception area, the Inn appeared a bit dated and my concern about our stay started to increase.
It was right at this point however, that the charm of the Inn, the area as well as the staff and owner Mark took over. The rooms are small and the shower even smaller but the bed and pillows are the best sleeping you will find anywhere.
The staff is so friendly and helpful that you cannot help but feel like family.
The area surrounding the Inn is breathtaking and begs to be explored.
The menu is simple but the food is expertly prepared.
The wine list is superb stocked with local wines.
Mark the owner is a gracious host.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torts58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We attended a wedding in Monte Rio and stayed across the river at the Village Inn. The rooms are cozy and well kept. The grounds peaceful and beautiful. The innkeepers attentive. We look forward to a reason to return to Monte Rio and another stay at the Village Inn.
The Youngs, Monterey,CA

Room Tip: The corner room has a nice river view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcyoung2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stumbled onto this enchanting inn and had a wonderful experience. The rooms, gardens, and entire property is absolutely charming, obviously decorated and cared for with a loving touch. Beautiful gardens, comfortable rooms, warm and friendly innkeepers, giant redwoods right outside our window, cozy nook for continental breakfast, what more could you ask?

We had planned to camp that night, but tent and clothes were wet from an all day rain. All we needed was a room, and instead, we found an experience that was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homebydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was THE most beautiful place. Pure magic.
Our room was cozy and immaculate and the view was pure bliss. The River was right in front of us, and having a glass of wine on the lawn before dinner was truly an event--very peaceful, restful, with plenty of charm to spare!
Also, we did some great wine tasting at small wineries tucked along the Russian River.
Our entire experience was perfect.

Room Tip: The suites are terrific. Dine in a window seat and watch the river go by--chef is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank marcia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was staying down the road at another property and decided to have dinner at this restaurant. It was really a pleasant surprise. Wait staff was very attentive, friendly and accommodating. The food was quite good as well. The escargot was average and the steak au poivre was excellent (as was the sides). Overall it was a great experience. I ended up staying there for the night and was offered a great last minute rate for a room overlooking the river. The property was well maintained and very charming.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigandeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We lucked out and were given Room G, a spacious. light room, with windows galore and french doors leading out to a spacious sunny deck overlooking the Russian River and redwoods in front, and the the lawn, beautiful lodge main building, decks and gardens from the other windows. A wonderful, seductive love seat overlooking the River and redwoods and swimming ducks was perfect for relaxing, reading and just enjoying the fabulous view and environment when the sun went down. This room had easy access to lodge and lovely restaurant, up a short ramp, which serves a continental breakfast in charming surroundings and offers well-priced food and lovely, attentive service in a lovely restaurant overlooking the River and beautiful redwoods. Can hardly wait to return again for more relaxation in beautiful, warm, peaceful surroundings and a good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and the sounds of birds and ducks in the morning to greet you.

Room Tip: AbsolutelBook "G" for a beautiful view, a large sunny deck overlooking the Russian RIver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reinaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Village Inn is so much fun and relaxing. The owners Mark and Phillip are the best, friendly and helpful with anything and everything. The Russian River views are great and with the restaurant and bar you never have to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
10.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
5.3 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Rio Villa Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Monte Rio
78 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
421 reviews
2.4 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn & Restaurant

Address: 20822 River Blvd, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9758
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price Range: $173 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Groupon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Village Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn & Restaurant Hotel Monte Rio
Village Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing