We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”

The Village Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Monte Rio
Price range: $16 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bohemian Highway
Transit: Sonoma County Transit bus 20 is convenient, as is Bill's Taxi at (707) 869-2177
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Had dinner here Sunday night. It is overlooking the river and has a great vibe to it. Took a while to get our drink order placed and about ten minutes to receive it. My wife ordered the soup and a chicken dish. I had a caesar salad and a small plate of scallops. Asked if I could order a side of vegetable or rice. Waitress checked with the chef and told me she could do greens or asparagus. I chose greens. Took a while for the soup and salad to arrive. Salad was average at best. The soup was good. The service was so slow that it ruined the entire experience. It took almost forty minutes from soup and salad to entries’.
Scallops were good however small plate meant three tiny scallops for 19.00. The greens were uneatable, must have been collard greens not chard as I was told. My wife’s chicken was tasty but very overpriced. Wine was overpriced. I do not mind spending more for a good meal but this restaurant fell way short. The waiting here will drive you nuts! There are better options.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mejamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2017

Easy walk from the Highland Del. Ate dinner in the bar and found it very comfortable. Waiter and bartender were friendly and pleasant. Attention to details, refilling water glasses was the only fault. Pricey but good food. Stayed for an after dinner cocktail.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wallyf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Stayed in June in the river view room. Room was great but half of blinds were broken. Breakfast was amazing, grounds very pleasant

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OlgaChotinun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016

Took the family for a Thanksgiving dinner. Food was good. Price was high. Portions were small (most of us remained hungry). Had no meaningful kids menu. Service was very slow (30 minutes to get water...

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank FrequentTraveler2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016

I have eaten at thr Village Inn in Monte Rio several times I would certainly rated it 5 stars , the dinners are savory and delicious ..I suggest when making a reservation ask to sit outside on the deck....beautiful views of the Russian River of the surrounding mountains ..and the Monte Rio bridge ....Breath taking views all around ...The Meals are The greatest ...

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank email4cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Monte Rio, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Village Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing