We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At first a little disappointed only 9 holes but than whowww!”

Northwood Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Monte Rio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1928, this 9-hole golf course, nestled among majestic redwoods, is a classic.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“At first a little disappointed only 9 holes but than whowww!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were just driving by to Jener and found this beauty. A gem designed by the iconic Alister MacKenzie (think Cypress, Augusta, Pasatiempo) this nine holer stands up very well as an example of MacKenzie's work. Also standing up well (even at his age) as is Al, the fabulous starter/host. My wife fell in love with him first and the golf course second - so much so we're going to try and find a rental home on the course for next October so we can enjoy this area more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Par 9 course I have ever played”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a must when visiting the area if you play golf. The golf pro, Vern is also the best I have ever met.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful course and good food”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Loved the peace and quiet of this course. The adjacent restaurant and bar is also a good place to grab a good meal and cocktail amongst the Redwoods

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MzTFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to play”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nice course, actually under the trees. You feel like you are really some place special when playing here. The little restaurant is a decent place but the service is VERY slow!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Golf is fun if you don't have a slice or hook”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

the restaurant is a golf clubhouse, don't expect a zagut rating

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwood Golf Club also viewed

Monte Rio, Sonoma County

Been to Northwood Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing