We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting on the Russian River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Took a trip with my sisters and 89 year old mother. Rio Villa was a great spot for our evening. We loved the grounds, loved the patio with table off our room and overlooking the river. Loved the fireplace where we met lovely teachers from SF and shared some of their port. Loved Bob. It was a great experience in every way!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank wccarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 26-29 October 2012. Ron, the owner, greeted us pleasantly and sorted out the paperwork with the minimum of fuss. The rooms are quaint (as is much of Monte Rio), but very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We had a mini-kitchen which was nice, and a view over the gardens. The gardens and river frontage, particularly this late in the season, were peaceful and relaxing - just what we were looking for. I tried fishing the river (without success!).
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room with the Jacuzzi bath - well worth a little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spellbinderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This motel is located right on the bank of the Russian River, with nice grounds and beautiful view. They have rooms of different sizes, but all rooms are well outdated. Breakfast is very light, so you need to bring something with you if you want to survive till lunch. The owners are helpful (if you ask), but it seems they do not really care about the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ron has the best place on the Russian River for a get-away. Whether you are single, a couple, a family or extended family, you'll find a clean and cozy place to stay at the Rio Villa Resort. Set right on the river, with easy access,it has a nice lawn and great outdoor patio with fireplace and grills for cooking your catch. No mildewy, dank or sketchy accomodation here. Grab a coffee or tea and enjoy breakfast "continentally"on the patio before you head off exploring the river, the redwoods or nearby coastal cities of Bodega Bay and Jenner. It's located right next to the public beach in Monte Rio where you can rent canoe's, kayaks and tubes to enjoy a river ride. Our family of 4 had a great 3 days based here. Thanks for the hospitality Ron!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famS95125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great Place, Excellent location right on the river and just a few steps to the bridge where you can rent Kayaks Canoes and Tubes for a small fee. Ron is a very attentive host and has done a great job making sure all the guests have what they need during their stay. A few large grills for b&q's in the evening, heaters around the patio. Lots of light, very nicely done simple, but plentiful breakfasts. Very safe area. A few steps away are 2 small markets for lunch or snacks..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family (mother, sister, two sons, dtr in law and myself) stayed at this lovely little gem for two nights. We rented two units: a one room with a futon in the living area, and a two bedroom villa. When we pulled in, we were so pleasantly pleased. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. Ron, the owner/innkeeper greeted us, and was so cheerful and accommodating. He remembered our names throughout the entire stay. The rooms were clean, and had all amenities we needed. Remember, it is a quaint little town on the river, so it was just that, a quaint little cottage room. The walls were thin, but we were adjacent to my sons, which was fine. The grounds are so nice and lead right down to the river, with several canoes and kayakers floating by. The swing to sit and watch was so inviting, we sat for an hour just watching people. There is a back patio with an outdoor fireplace as well, all which overlook the river. The continental breakfast consisted of cereal, oatmeal, breads, bagels, coffee, juice, and milk. Everything you need to start your day. The first night, my mother became ill, and we had to take her to the emergency room. Ron and Bruce were very helpful with information to the local hospital, which was just 30 min away. All in all, we loved Ron, with his very bubbly personality, and were pleasantly surprised and pleased with this little gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Although the resort is very close to the road and there is road noise, it's not so bad that you can't relax and sleep comfortably. Recommend to stay in rooms that view out over the river. Rooms were dated but clean. Owners offered beach towels when he saw we were going to river; nice extra. The grounds are beautiful. Very close to beach area with river rentals. Highly recommend canoeing or kayaking from this area to Guerneville. Pretty close to lots of wineries; go across street to Sophie's Cellar for good winery recommendations from owner; he's a local wine expert. (Try Iron Horse and DeLoach.) Cell phone/internet service available: best closer to river. Very few places to eat in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
10.5 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,718 reviews
9.8 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
533 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Inn & Restaurant
Village Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Monte Rio
68 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Villa Beach Resort

Address: 20292 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price Range: $148 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Villa Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Russian River in West Sonoma's Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing