We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”

Montara Point Lighthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Montara
Attraction details
Twain Harte
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a Lighthouse and Hostal. The people in charge of the lighthouse and Hostel were very friendly and full of information, they helped me remember another lighthouse I saw up north. Great coast view to the south from the property.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mtfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice park rangers,cool museum,seals galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The light on display inside as well as stories of shipwrecks that caused this to be erected were fascinating.Nice giftshop and plenty fo parking with clean restrooms coupled with the affordable hostel on site makes this a budget travelers choice if travelling the PCH between SF & Big Sur

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hostel and the lighthouse surprised us!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The area is very beautiful. There is a wonderful hostel on the property. However...we were SHOCKED at how small the lighthouse was. It doesn't take long to visit and get some pictures and enjoy the view and its FREE. Definitely go visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I saw the light (house)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

it was a foggy day ... we enjoyed interesting vistas of the lighthouse as well as the Pacific Ocean... we were hosted by gracious docents ... the site has historical significance ... we found easy access from the Central Costa County ... easy parking was provided ...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erland701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Moment in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great view point as well as a bit of history. Excellent point for photographs. We weren't able to stay at the hostel but during our visit we were able to talk to staff member who was quite friendly and helpful with recommendations for the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ZebraMom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montara Point Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Montara Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing