We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking-- a must-see!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI-Point Montara Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking-- a must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

It's a hostel in an old lighthouse... it doesn't get much cooler than that. The location is remote but still within walking distance of groceries and food, and the scenery is incredible! From open beaches to breathtaking coastal trails, this area is definitely worth a look. The hostel itself is cozy, comfortable, and well-equipped. You aren't allowed to be there during the day, so plan accordingly. The staff were friendly and the grounds are beautiful. I'd recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
22
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This was the best hostel of all time. Surely go for one of the private rooms so that you can hear the ocean while you lay in bed. To be certain, the private rooms are small but who cares. Go there, go there now!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barenakedcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

The location of this cute hostel is just breathtaking!
Too bad we couldn't get our own room and had to share with -amongst others- a loud snoring lady.
Bathroom wasn't too clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

This hostel is in a great setting...it's literally on a bluff overlooking the ocean. We slept with our windows open and could hear the waves crashing all night. We stayed in a dorm with three beds, but bought the third bed to make it a private room since all the private rooms were reserved. Very clean (actually hostel "closes" from 11-3:30 daily for cleaning) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Two kitchens, so there's plenty of room for cooking/eating. Would definitely recommend this hostel and if I return to the area would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kushta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

I was a bit nervous about the idea of staying at a "hostel" but the beautiful pictures of the property on the website convinced me. I reserved a private room and was very pleased with my stay. The room was small but was comfortable, and clean, and the view from the window was even better than I imagined. The sound of waves crashing on the beach below was profoundly relaxing. The property was well run with a friendly staff. There were lovely gardens of unusual succulents and other plants. The public kitchen and other public rooms were comfortable and clean. Behind the kitchen was an outdoor area over the beach with picnic tables that was perfect for breakfast with a view. I had expected the hostel to be full of young travelers with backpacks, but actually found most of the other guests to be young families arriving with luggage in the car. In the morning we enjoyed a walk down to the beach, and spent some quiet time birdwatching from the cliff above the water. It only took us about 20 minutes to get into Sn Fancisco by car from the hostel on the morning we checked out so this was a great place to stay for a day in the city as well.

  • Liked — the location right on the ocean
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

the place is just amazing right on cliff above the pacific, with a private access to a small beach, and with a working lighthouse... the hostel is located in the building next to it and surrounded by a beautiful garden.
the hostel is small but nice and clean with a really welcoming living room and two kitchens... don't miss to have breakfast looking from the huge window in the kitchen. the view over the ocean is thrilling.
and enjoy a sunse over the pacific from the chairs facing the ocean.
not a luxury hotel but definetly better than it in my opinion. a pearl.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nereide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

The lighthouse was a wonderfulu experience. The hostel experience was new and refreshing. We stayed in a private room that overlooked the ocean. We could hear the waves all night. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were clean. Less than 30 miles from San Fransisco, it was like another place and time. Will definitely visit again.

  • Liked — view of the the ocean
  • Disliked — gate locks at night
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MissBehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
3.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
8.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seal Cove Inn
Seal Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Moss Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Point Montara Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Point Montara Lighthouse

Property: HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
Address: Hwy 1, Montara, CA 94037
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Point Montara Lighthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, HI-Point Montara Lighthouse provides affordable shared and private accommodations in historic former lighthouse keeper's quarters. Amenities include fully equipped guest kitchens, free WiFi, Internet access, espresso bar, and on-site laundry and parking. The coastside location provides access to several beaches for swimming, surfing, kayaking, jogging, horseback riding, and windsurfing. Treat yourself--and your budget--to one-of-a-kind retreat on the dramatic and breathtaking California coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI-Point Montara Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Point Montara Lighthouse Hotel Montara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing