We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwich on the PCH”

Gherkin's Sandwich Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Montara
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best sandwich on the PCH”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As we were driving up the PCH my eye caught the shop image of the Gherkin with muscles! It made us chuckle so much we turned around and went in to eat. We shared a sandwich between the two of us, It was fast, tasty and everyone was polite. happy days!

Great place for lunch or a snack!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love the Sandwiches”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The food here is excellent. I love the view of the ocean, even though it's slightly obstructed by trees. The staff is nice enough, just not quite good enough for a 5 start rating. The only other complaint I have is that it's always freezing, but that is the case with most places in the area. Overall, this is probably my favorite food on 1 for a good stretch and I will continue to go when I am in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fsb1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and vibe”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The burgers, fries and sandwiches were top rate. My only negative is they need some ice for the drinks. The salads were okay but nothing out of this world. Brownies were worth the calories. Great selection of sodas and chips. The staff were really friendly and fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pachamamajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
389 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Incredible sandwiches!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Bring your appetite or a friend, as one sandwich can easy feed two people. The ingredients are fresh and tasty. The owner, Elias, is a friendly, energetic entrepreneur. Supporting a local businessman like him is reason enough to stop here. You won't be disappointed! The sandwiches are absolutely delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

1 of the best sandwiches I have ever had they pile on the meat it's around $10per sandwich but soo worth it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gherkin's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Gherkin's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing