We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & view, very good food...Peruvian for something different”
Review of La Costanera

La Costanera
Reserve with OpenTable
La Costanera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Montara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
411 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great location & view, very good food...Peruvian for something different”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and brother and I made our first visit yesterday to both try something new (Peruvian) and to take a nice drive up the cost from San Jose. The restaurant is 15 minutes north of the Hwy 92 intersection with Hwy 1. We were lucky to pick an evening with no marine layer (fog). The food was very good. We tried an assortment of small and large plates. The only disappointment was the crab cake small plate as it was mostly potato with no crab to be found. The other dishes were unique and well prepared. The room when full was pretty noisy. While a romantic setting, the noise level worked against it. Others have commented on poor service. Our waiter was efficient and helpful even with a very large party as one of his other tables. Definitely would return if staying in the area...would have to think again about driving over an hour to get there unless bringing out of town visitors.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    64
    27
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peruvian-American Fusion Disappointment”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Coming from our recent trip from Peru, we were expecting an authentic Peruvian dinner. We were disappointed. The ceviche lacked the presentation as a good appetizer. Maybe our expectation was set high because the restaurant was a Michelin awardee. We ordered Cebiche Mixto first which was a combination of squid, shrimp& fish. We were expecting a large variety of it and was disappointed on the small portion so we ordered the Cebiche tasting portion. We got 3 small container covered with thin slices of onions. Not very appetizing on presentation . Looked like it was rushed with just mounds of onions on top.
While we were having our meal 2 ladies slipped on the floor flat on their back. One lady looked elderly and was rubbing her hip on her way to her table. The staff finally had someone mopped the floor after the second slipped.
We both ordered a seafood entree which did not taste Peruvian. Tasted like an ordinary seafood entree at any seafood restaurant.
For dessert, I was expecting Peruvian coffee which I loved while in Peru because of the mocha taste incorporated in the coffee. The coffee they have was Mt Diablo coffee.
On our way out of the parking lot there was a hump that was too high or maybe the lot needed some asphalt, we heard some noise underneath the car hitting the hump. These is something they need to fix for safety reason.
The Pisco sour was ok and the price was reasonable.
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lagingpasyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm not sure where to start in talking about La Costanera - the marvelous cuisine, the unforgettable setting, or the wonders of a Pisco Sour, the most innocently disguised adult beverage this side of a margarita. The chicken and beef tapas I sampled were melt-in-your-mouth ambrosial, and after washing them down with the above-mentioned Pisco Sour (Pisco is a Peruvian spirit, made from fermented grapes but far more potent than any cognac imaginable) and gazing out at the almost Egyptian-looking cliffs that define Moss Beach, I felt happily enscounced in an part of the world that I just hated to leave. Located on California Highway 1 about a half hour outside of San Francisco. Don't walk, run!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spearchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, worth the drive and the cost”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The restaurant rides the line between traditional Peruvian cuisine and a novel presentation. While the "large" plates seem robust and enjoyable, the four of us opted to share an array of "small" plates, and that route was delightful. The food was great, the service attentive and informative (our server gave us opinions and helped us navigate through dietary restrictions), and the atmosphere was trendy and comfortable at the same time. For a local (as we are), it's an opportunity to go down the coast and enjoy the view, but it's for a special occasion. For the visitor, go early an enjoy a drink outside overlooking the beach and ocean. If the weather is clear, the sunset can be spectacular, but if it's a bit foggy, you'll have a wonderful experience of a different type. Parking can be tight--we were lucky and just drove right in--and there is no "neighborhood", except across Highway 1 up some small roads. So arrive early, and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pacdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“2nd Time around with wife in tow”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Last year I went and rated it top out of all the top flight restaurants we went to.
Took my wife because I kept raving about this place but could not explain it except she kept calling it "Oh a Tapas Place" after my explanations. After we devoured 7 small plates she called it foodie heaven and talked about it all through the rest of her 3 day vacation. It is Peruvian themed with masterpiece small dishes. The various sauces will surprise your taste buds.

Yes it is loud and yes it is hard to park at, go early to make your reservations and have a Pisco at the bar. The food is the thing, be ready for a complex study of sauces and flavors that somehow do not overpower the meal, leaving you with new thoughts on food. When I went there I immediately went home and hit the computer to try to recreate what I had with some luck, which have been crowd pleasers.

If you don't come your mouth will never forgive you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManOfC0nstantS0rr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Costanera also viewed

 

Been to La Costanera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing