We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem historic inn on the coast!”
Review of Ocean View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean View Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden gem historic inn on the coast!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night and were kindly upgraded to the penthouse ocean view room. It was adorable and a great value. I saw some of the negative reviews and am glad we went with our instincts and came anyway. It's important to note that this place has great history and their in the process of renovating the place. When you have an historic property you have to gain approvals from several commissions. Also this is a B&B with a great ocean view bakery/cafe that's also good for lunch. For those negative nellies looking for five star service and accommodations for $135 a night please get a reality check. This place has charming personality and a great view for the money. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pachamama67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
10
30
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Overall in need of many repairs. Found used floss pick on the bedside table. Carpet was stained with grease. Arm chairs covered blankets to hide tears and stains. Windows that didn't close and curtain rods falling off the walls. Checked out a day early and no return call from the GM to refund the last night's stay. The clerk at the desk argued with me about finding the floss pick. Like I would make that up! Stay away from this one!!

Room Tip: Doubt there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Cheryl, I find your review misleading and untrue, but never the less your perception. Typically if a guest is not happy with the room/accommodations they immediately come down and notify the front desk. You stayed one night without any comments and then decided to leave, which is not the norm. You stand corrected that you were refunded for a full nights stay although we do have a 48 hour cancellation policy and the GM approved the refund. As far as the condition/cleaniness of the room, I personally cleaned that room and told you such, you looked very surprised when I said that. And, yes, that floss pick was not in the room and I stand by that. Interestingly enough you manager to partake in the continential breakfast and checked out at 11am when you informed me of your displeasure. I am sorry you were "way disappointed" the NEXT day and not upon arrival as I would have been more than happy to help you find accommodations and release you from the reservation. But the day after???????? Yes, we do our very best to make the room comfortable and we take great pride in making certain it is clean and presentable. Not for everyone's taste, but clean for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montara hotels

pacifica
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've stayed at the Ocean View Inn many times and I love it. The rooms are all huge and the penthouse is absolutely fabulous. The place is very old, very romantic and a little funky, but I love funky. It was built around the turn of the century and is an old Victorian roadhouse, and I heard from the locals that the old roadhouses were all speakeasies where lots of illegal activities went on during prohibition, so I think its an old brothel. This place has history, a fabulous ambiance, stained glass windows in some of the rooms (ask to see them). It's a unique and wonderful place, but its not the Sheraton and the price is right. For me there is no comparison. This is my kind of place. Debbie the owner is soo welcoming. If you stay here, make sure you go to the Moss Beach Distillery for great live music and great food, you can bring your dog. Also, check out the Bach Dynamite and Dancing Society in Moss Beach, a walk from the Ocean View Inn, the best straight up jazz in the Bay Area. Carol

Room Tip: The penthouse is by far the best room at roadhouse/Ocean View Inn. Stay here if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The lady at the front desk was friendly. We stayed in the penthouse and it was nicely decorated. There is no phone in the room, so every time we needed something we had to walk up and down three flights of stairs. The Ocean View is extremely disappointing. The website does not mention that Highway 1 and se houses are between the Hotel and the Ocean. It said you could hear the waves from the Penthouse. All I could hear was the continuous traffic on the highway. I paid for an Ocean View and I received a partial View. We did not try the breakfast. We drove about four miles to Denny's in Pacifica.
Another review said something about a barking dog. I had knocked on the door at several different times and I never heard a dog. They are remodeling so don't be to harsh on the exterior appearance. I just wish the website was a bit more up front about the view and I would not have been so disappointed. I would have expected a freeway not an view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trodjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before I booked this place, but had booked it last minute and was disappointed by my experience there. I would not give it such a low rating if I had known what I was getting but felt misled by the beautiful pictures on the website and most frustrating was the fact that they did NOT HONOR MY CONFIRMATION FOR A KING SIZE BED. I handed my printout of my reservation confirmation for a "Standard King Room" but was told I was getting a Queen and that there were no rooms with King beds available. I was upset by this especially since it was my anniversary and my husband is 6'4" so I had planned for a nice evening. I told her there was a mistake and the front desk staff said she changed the mistake and sure enough, she reprinted the confirmation and handed me a new copy of their confirmation of my room with a queen size bed - not the King size that originally booked under. But seeing that I was still not satisfied she told me that if the room wasn't satisfactory, that I could go and try and find a different place and they could cancel the room for me without cancelation penalty. I thought that was a lame consolation because it was 7:30 pm on a Friday night - where were we going to find vacancy at that point? And why should I try driving all around town to find a room when I thought I had booked a nice one already?

The property was old and run down - you could call it quaint - it had some cuteness to it, but really needed some refurbishing. Our room was spacious, the queen size was adequate enough; we did not sleep great on it. The bathtub had Jacuzzi jets but it was broken and there was a sign saying that if guests turned on the Jacuzzi, they would be responsible for any damages, fined and possibly thrown out of the hotel. Romantic huh? The lid on the tank was broken, the wallpaper was peeling. Their ad in on of the Half Moon Bay Visitor's Guides said they had a pool - it doesn't. It says it had an Ocean View, I couldn't see the ocean from the property at all, just a busy highway. Breakfast consisted of bottled of OJ, fruit, and some microwaved frozen biscuits that you can buy at the grocery store down the street.

On the positive side however, the shower had nice water pressure, the sheets on the bed were nice, and the Front Desk Staff was very friendly. Our room opened onto a back shared patio, which is kind of cool. The Front Desk staff called it a "garden" which was a concrete patio with some plants - I don't think there were any flowers.

It was the cheapest room could find that night (about $114) and I was resigned to the fact that I got what I paid for. But when I checked around in Half Moon Bay I found other B&Bs comparably priced and much nicer than this place. I wouldn't come here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize your stay was not to your liking and trust me we would have done everything we could to accommodate you, but we were sold out during a busy time. We do invite you to come back and we will be happy to host another stay ~ a "do over" if you will so you can have a better experience and celebrate your anniversary. Please call me to arrange this. Our free continental breakfast is more in content than normal. With only coffee and pastries, we provide, juices, yogurt, fresh milk, cereals, fruit, pastries and array of tea and chocolate and even breakfast sandwiches. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope you will offer us another opportunity to host your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The place is a bit run down although I read that the suite on the top floor is remodeled. Our room needed some updating. Carpet was tired, furniture has seen it's better days. Mold in the window corners. One bed was adequate and the other was like sleeping on a table with sheets. Breakfast was nothing special. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. I would not stay here again though. Even the view was quite limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ackHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was not comfortable or to your liking. As always, you could have informed the front desk and we would have released you from your reservation or offered another room. It's our position to make your stay pleasant and welcoming at all times. Transformations and renovations take time. Our goal is to revive this beautiful historical building to sustain it's livelihood. But as the majority of guests enjoy staying here, we understand it's not for everyone. Thank you so much again for your critique as it helps us to make changes in a positive direction. We hope you will check back now and then and see our progress of the rooms and inn. And maybe someday in the future you will come and enjoy!
From the Innkeeper, Debbie Padilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We made the mistake of booking this old dump. The ocean is not much in view but the busy highway is.The place smells bad, the furniture is worn and dirty. The carpet is scorched in several places by an electric iron. The room with two queen beds has one bed that is so hard (think box spring) that it is not possible to sleep on it. We were offered another room and two roll-away beds as an alternative but soon discovered that that room was missing a smoke alarm (wires hanging from the ceiling). When we complained about the lack of smoke alarm and mentioned the safety violation we were told to "get out" by the housekeeping woman. We asked for a refund since the hotel was prepaid through Hotels.com and were refused. If Hotels.com keeps this place on their site we will never book with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Edd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I find it interesting you will post a review and you did not stay here? Also, you neglect to mention that you and your family were nightmares (and did not even check in). You had our front desk clerk so nervous and shaken. And, then you proceed to enter rooms that are being cleaned even after being asked to please wait. You ran up and down this inn until our housekeeper told you to please leave and was going to call the police on you! Well, I agree, NEVER too! You are not welcomed back here either. You should be ashamed of yourselves as parents to teach you children how to behave poorly while travelling. I will bet you were nightmares where ever you go. The inn may not have been to your liking, but with a courteous mention to the front desk and we would have released you from your reservation, no problem. Maybe Hotels.com should not accept your reservation any longer either. Your more suited for a log cabin in the wilderness. From the Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
910 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
3.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
175 reviews
8.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Property: Ocean View Inn
Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its contemporary coastal-inspired decor, specious suites & penthouses with all the comforts of home. All of the inns nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary WiFi, premium channel lineup with 42" HD flatscreens, free parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery. Walk to the Montara State Beach and watch the sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing