We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave my room to someone else”
Review of Ocean View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean View Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I didn't actually stay here, although I did book a room and pay a deposit. When I arrived, my room had been given to someone else. I was running late getting there. I phoned ahead at 9pm. I was assured by a sweet young man named Travis that my room was waiting for me. I arrived at the Inn at 10 pm. When I arrived with my reservation paperwork, Travis seemed genuinely mortified that he had mistakenly given my room to another woman who showed up within that hour. He thought she was me. The young woman Inn Keeper immediately found rooms available in the area but for over double the cost. I opted to drive back to the bay area to stay with a brother. I showed the Inn Keepers my paper work. I had paid a 10% deposit on the room. She offered to tell the booking agency that I did not show up, which I pointed out wasn't the truth because I was standing in front of them. They were very sweet people, but, I wasn't helped out in any way. It wrecked my weekend at the coast and no one has offered any kind of restitution.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

The management of the Ocean View Inn is extremely sorry for the confusion that took place that evening. We have definitely taken this problem seriously and have worked out the bugs in the communication error. Once again the Ocean View Inn offers our deepest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Ocean View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 62 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank iPhone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MucAntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sepp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
940 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
3.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
1.4 mi away
Seal Cove Inn
Seal Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Moss Beach
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range: $317 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its contemporary coastal-inspired decor, specious suites & penthouses with all the comforts of home. All of the inns nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary WiFi, premium channel lineup with 42" HD flatscreens, free parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery. Walk to the Montara State Beach and watch the sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing