We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfort stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I know many people complain about this hotel, I think those bad reviews were only back then when this doubletree newly opens. They have changed now. Not only the front staff was helpful and courteous, the hotel itself is nice and neat!

They have nice pool and jacuzzi outside with cabana, fireplace, relaxing chairs and a Wii system. There is a fitness center on the first floor overseeing the pool with lots of windows.

The room itself impresses me the most with the innovative roll away desk that enable me to work on my bed, on the large couch by the window or stand alone underneath the 32" LCD TV. I appreciate the free internet access also. The roll away desk saves a lot of space in the room. I have attached some pictures along with my review but they were taken from the cell phone so the quality isn’t that good.

Bathroom with standing shower, hand-held shower head and Neutrogena face moisturizer, cleaning foam, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner. Great bed and towels!

Contemporary room decoration. Ample parking space without fees. Walkable distance to restaurants.

My only complain is the same as other users are that the air conditioning seems a bit noisy. But overall, I had a great stay and definitely will be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 862 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

I have always stayed at this hotel when I am out in the Pasadena/Arcadia/Monrovia area for business.

Not only does it have a great location and easy access to the freeway system, but between the Red Lobster and the Claim Jumper on either side of the parking lot, there is no need to drive anywhere for a drink and a meal after work. An the rooms ensure a good nights rest.

The staff were very helpfull and have made my many stays at the property very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Very nice hotel in good location. Got a great rate booking online so great value for me. Not sure of great value if paid $150 plus for the room. Nice size room, well appointed. As stated in other reviews AC a little noisey but not a big problem for me...might be for some.
Didn't eat in rest. but did have drink at bar...pleasant service and very relaxing environment. Pool area is good with nice atmosphere. Beverage service at pool is nice touch. All in all very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dine43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Likes: Modern, well thought-out design; luxury written all over it down to the shower curtain and bedside fiber-optic lamps; spa shower; relaxing atmosphere; very Zen feel; very comfortable platform bed and luxurious down pillows; friendly, welcoming staff; stunning swimming pool area; walking distance to restaurants; free parking (unlike other DoubleTrees that charge $14/night).

Dislike: loud air conditioner with intentionally disabled fan control stuck on "high"; sounds like a vacuum cleaner being turned on and off every 5 minutes throughout the night. Try sleeping with that in the background. Aircon noise defeats purpose of the room. Apparently, all air conditioners in the hotel operate that way according to front desk. Big oversight. Too bad, I like the hotel but can't sacrifice sleep again!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Velarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

First of all, we were here for a wedding, and it was over 100 degrees every day.

The hotel lobby was cool, but as soon as we got to our floor there was no A/C in the hallway. Our room was boiling. The hip, European design work looks attractive, but is extremely impractical. From the bed you can see the bath/shower through the glass wall, but you can also see the toilet. There is absolutely no modesty here at all, unless you're planning on just using the bathroom in the lobby.

The glass wall is only a half wall, so when you turn the shower on the water gets everywhere - including into the bedroom. Our shower handle also broke off when the water was hot, and we were unable to get it to go back on.

My friend (the bride's) room had to be changed twice, as the room she booked the hotel had re-booked, and the second room was filled with exercise equipment. The suite's only have a central A/C which doesn't circulate at all.

Also, the elevator was broken so only one was working, except the night of the wedding when they were both broken and we had to use the service elevator.

Fortunately the bar made strong drinks and the service was above average.

I would not recommend this hotel unless they completely re-renovate.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K8Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I am a Hilton diamond member and wrote some comments for improvement after my stay. They have not responded or acknowledged my concerns.

1. The room air condition has one speed, LOUD.
Quite irritating when it comes on in the middle of the night.
2. Bathroom door slides and sticks in the closed position.
Watch out for your fingernails ladies to get broken
3. $14.00 for a gin and tonic? Please
4. Flat screen TV sound varies greatly from channel to channel.
5. Remote for TV works sporadically.
6. Get ready to hear the room next door urinating!

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank Diamondfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

WOW!! This hotel is superb, refined and trendy. The latest in guest room comfort and great staff and a warm cookie too..

I would recommend any day. The pool area with the cabanas and the fire pit is incredibly welcoming, the food is great, even better than the Ritz.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank guero88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area

Address: 924 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range: $161 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Monrovia - Pasadena Area is located near Los Angeles, Ontario, Burbank, Arcadia, Duarte and Irwindale, California in the heart of the San Gabriel Valley and offers contemporary hotel accommodations with spectacular views of the Foothills. Forward thinking designed guest rooms feature up-to-date conveniences like flat-panel TV's, mobile "My Table" work surface and our incredibly luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Monrovia
Doubletree Monrovia
Monrovia Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing