We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Tremendous stay! Super staff! Rooms were clean and appointed with amenities that allowed me to work when I needed to and relax when it came time for that too. Breakfast was full of great healthy choices. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 901 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for one night after attending a band competition in Chino Hills. We used Honors points to book the room. We had a late check in and received a very warm fresh cookie at the desk. The parking and wifi are free. That is about the only good things I have to day about the hotel. We requested a room near the elevator. Big mistake. All night long we heard the elevator going up and down. Sounded like it was in our room. Also, the furniture design, while trendy and attractive is not practical. It was a struggle to get up from the bed, as it sits very low to the floor. No bathtub, we wanted a hot bath after sitting all day and evening in football stadium. We were cold and wanted a warm soak in the tub. Also the sink and counter design were not designed well. Very small counter top area to put put toiletries, curling iron, etc. Lighting was not good in the bathroom or at the desk. Sink sits on top of the counter which I did not like at all. Big screen TV but had to struggle to get it away from the wall and tilted around towards the beds. Most hotels I have stayed in have some sort of complimentary breakfast. We just wanted a cup of coffee, maybe some juice and a bagel. No complimentary breakfast here. I don't like to complain about a room that we booked using points, but it seemed like all the comforts I am used to in a hotel were missing from this property. We will be wiser next time when booking a hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for a night because he had to be in the area for wedding events. It was the most decent hotel for the price in the area. To pay for the hotel I used my Citi Card and used some of my points to get a little bit of a discount on the room. After I had booked the room I called to let them know that we would be checking in late, that we wanted a mountain view room and that we were Hilton Honors. She took my Hilton Honors number and added it to our reservations.

Upon arrival it was about 10 pm and we were very tired. When we checked in they gave us a room on the second floor not on the Hilton Honors floors. When we got to the room we had a beautiful view of the parking lot. The room was very clean. Our bathroom door would not close all the way. It felt like the bathroom was in the room. There was not good lighting in the bathroom. If you want privacy in the bathroom, you most likely will not get it. Opening the curtains in the morning was a struggle. We had a hard time sliding them over. They would get stuck in a couple of places. In the morning our hallway was very noisy with people speaking very loudly and slamming doors. Oh and we had to wait for cookies and they weren't even warm. We were disappointed with our stay but at least the room was clean and the bed was somewhat comfortable. Although the blanket did not keep me warm in the middle of the night so it was kind of chilly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LecSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel N, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for selecting our hotel when staying in the area. As a Hilton Honors member we strive to make your experience the best possible and we apologize that we have failed to meet your expectations. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we work to improve our on-property experience. We hope you will give us another try so we may demonstrate our commitment to your loyalty to the Hilton Brand.

Best Regards,
Daniel Nguyen - Sales Coordinator
dnguyen@doubletreemonrovia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although the hotel has a no smoking policy, that may not prevent you from getting a room that smells of smoke (cigars). Hotel staff should be better trained to identify this problem, especially before Hilton Honors members receive the room in that condition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Furniture was too low. The staff was unfriendly and not knowledgeable of the area. The bottled water in the room was too expensive. There was no vending machine on our floor. Poor bathroom design and dangerous position of selves. Watch your head if you bend over to get toilet paper from under the counter you will hit your head on the corner of the shelf. Long dresses don't fit in the closet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lplascencia, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Barbara,

I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. I thank you for your review and I really hope you'll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area.

Best Regards,

Luis Plascencia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed at this DoubleTree a few times. I have family and friends in the area and for business it is not too bad of a drive into LA. The rooms are always clean and well appointed. It is near Pasadena and the Rose Bowl, Santa Anita race track, Downtown Monrovia (a nice "old town" feel with restaurants and shops), but far enough away from most tourist traps to not be inundated with kids or the usual tourist gimmicks. Free parking, free wifi, and yes, the cookie was tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ibemarkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My son, Pat Goodin, his Formula Drift crew I have had the incredible good fortune to stay at the beautiful hotel 2 years in a row when he drove at Irwindale Speedway. Not only were the staff very friendly, helpful, extremely efficient, but also quite personable. Our rooms was very nice....large, very modern and so comfortable. The entire hotel was immaculate and the food was delicious! The turn down service, with chocolates, was the icing on the cake! Can't wait for next year!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the extra big 2 bedroom....well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvincentballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Pasadena Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area

Address: 924 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range: $157 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Monrovia - Pasadena Area is located near Los Angeles, Ontario, Burbank, Arcadia, Duarte and Irwindale, California in the heart of the San Gabriel Valley and offers contemporary hotel accommodations with spectacular views of the Foothills. Forward thinking designed guest rooms feature up-to-date conveniences like flat-panel TV's, mobile "My Table" work surface and our incredibly luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Monrovia
Doubletree Monrovia
Monrovia Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing