We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Merengue Bakery and Cafe - MOVED

Merengue Bakery and Cafe
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Stilwell, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The day after the Rose Parade we were looking for a good place for breakfast and found Merengue. Great breakfast burrito and wonderful pastries. We took a box to our friends in Palm Desert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank amfpvks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Colony, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great cuban bakery”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you love portos in glendale, you will love this. I believe on of the bakers from portos opened this location in Monrovia. So good! the potato balls are great, the fruit tarts and sweets are amazing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank candegurrl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Food is really good, like the potato balls, but most of all i love the coffee in this place! Recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JZanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great bakery, pretty good on everything else”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The key lime tarts here are excellent, as is the tortilla soup. The sandwiches are good. I haven't tried the cakes, but these folks certainly appear to be expert bakers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scout1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great cakes and pastries..Cuban style”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Love the deserts to go along with lunch specials such as the bisteak sandwiches with portions of fruits on the side, fresh..
Hubby likes the breakfast which I don't get up for personally. No more dinner cooked by Momma on Fridays or Sat. I sorely miss!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank jbtujuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merengue Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing