We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Merengue Bakery and Cafe - MOVED

Merengue Bakery and Cafe
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Food is really good, like the potato balls, but most of all i love the coffee in this place! Recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JZanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great bakery, pretty good on everything else”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The key lime tarts here are excellent, as is the tortilla soup. The sandwiches are good. I haven't tried the cakes, but these folks certainly appear to be expert bakers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scout1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great cakes and pastries..Cuban style”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Love the deserts to go along with lunch specials such as the bisteak sandwiches with portions of fruits on the side, fresh..
Hubby likes the breakfast which I don't get up for personally. No more dinner cooked by Momma on Fridays or Sat. I sorely miss!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank jbtujuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quality varies”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We've experienced outstanding food quality before. We even used them to prepare our son's wedding cake. People raved about that cake. Our most recent carrot cake purchase was disappointing. We special ordered the cake to take with us on a trip. The beach scene decoration, ordered for our trip, was attractive and fun. The cake itself was acceptable. However, the icing was butter cream. The icing did not work. There is a reason cream cheese icing is used on carrot cake. Prior cakes have had cream cheese icing. I don't know what they were thinking. This sort of hit and miss also applies to other food items. Maybe your food or dessert will be great, maybe not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pasadenajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“It's fine but when you compare it to Porto's it's no contest. Merengue's pastries maybe slightly larger, but they're...”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

It's fine but when you compare it to Porto's it's no contest. Merengue's pastries maybe slightly larger, but they're also WAY more expensive. The sandwiches are also more expensive. I went in to buy a sandwich and despite a nearly empty restaurant and at least a dozen employees, the sandwich took way too long to come out. The employees did not seem interested in being fast or paying attention, the person taking my order asked "do you want anything else" and "here or to go" no less than 4 times, she was very distracted.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merengue Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing