We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pass Mojave go to the next town Tehachapi.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Mojave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Mojave
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pass Mojave go to the next town Tehachapi.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Motel 6 is always substandard, but wow, this one is awful. The train barrels thru all night. It's like having a locomotive coming right thru the room. We had to keep the windows open because the room reeked of cigarette smoke. The door was not able to close all the way and lock; my husband had to get tools from the car and fix it. The town of Mojave is a scarey dump. The only sit down food is Denny's. We had found a restaurant review on line for Cafe 58 that looked good; we got there and the building was abandoned. Do yourself a favor and stay in the cute town on Tehachapi instead which has decent hotels and and a few cute looking restaurants. (We found that town AFTER we spent the night in Mojave.)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcipolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
14
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Clean, functional but you'd better like trains going by, oh my! Not the motels fault but wow.

Room Tip: Try to drive thru
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkmakibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well..this is a Motel 6, and that's exactly what you get. A clean but small and very basic room, at a very good rate. I paid ca. 38$ plus tax. Internet is available at 2,99$ per 24h. The pool is quite nice, staff is friendly. A supermarket and a restaurant are within walking distance. And about the noise: Traffic on the highway dies down after sunset. So no noise from there. And yes, you will hear trains at night. But you hear those in all of Mojave. Motel 6 is not worse than the other, more expensive motels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Mojave is a small town in the middle of nowhere. This motel is simple but fine, and very good value for money. Some noise from the nearby railroad.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Price is fair but don't expect anything and you will not be dissappointed. Trains will keep you up at all hours of the night setting off car alarms. Beds are not comfortable even if for one night but they are alot better than the cotton/wadded up T-shirts they call pillows there. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. If you want a nice peaceful place to stay without the fear of random people walking around all hours of the night then this isn't your place. Motel 6 has nice places but this isn't one. Keep driving!

Room Tip: Sorry to say, there isnt a real good tip but to look elseware,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mojave hotels

Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Gal at the desk was very nice. At 9:30PM gave us the room for the single rate. Yes the pillows are flat and hard, but go figure, my husband loves flat, hard pillows. I had brought my own fluffy ones. Train did not bother us as we were both exhausted and slept like babies. Super clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is situated near a set of train tracks. If you are from an urban or busy area and are used to brief noise eruptions throughout the night, chances are that you will sleep through the train sounds. The guy at the check in was also a little bit surly, but I checked in very late at night so maybe he was just tired. All in all, though, the rooms are clean and the price is right. An excellent value for the SoCal traveler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SkippyChunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
2.0 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#3 of 8 in Mojave
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Mojave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Mojave

Property: Motel 6 Mojave
Address: 16958 State Highway 58, SR 14 at SR 58, Mojave, CA 93501-1228
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Mojave 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Mojave CA is located in the heart of the Mojave Desert, nearby area restaurants and shopping. Visit Willow Springs Intl Raceway 17 miles or Red Rock Canyon 24 miles. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Relax with Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Mojave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Mojave
Mojave Motel Six
Mojave Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing