We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Bluffton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice place for a small town. Fridge in room with a freezer. Chad at the front desk was very very nice and took care of everything we asked . I would stay here again in a heartbeat . It is a bit dated, but the room was clean

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiandCourtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello,

It was nice talking to you. Always nice talking to a fellow Hoosier!


Chad (Manager)
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
76
40
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a cute little room here for two nights. It was very clean, with modern furnishings, a flat screen tv, fridge, microwave and clock. Continental breakfast is included. From here, we visited Red Rock Canyon State Park and Bakersfield (Kern County Museum, California Living Museum) and returned to Mojave via the scenic Highway 178 which follows the Kern River. There were lots of wildflowers along the road. Mojave is an easy town to negotiate. There is a huge wind farm nearby. There is also a Denny's and a Stater Brothers Supermarket in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Rob,

Thank you for staying for two nights while you took advantage of all that the Mojave Desert has to offer in terms of scenery. We try to keep our rooms as updated as possible and thank you for noticing.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

An older style motel but spotlessly clean and comfortable. I arrived fairly late, spent all day chasing trains but was welcomed by the staff. I had a room at the back away from the road so it was fairly quiet. I slept well.

King size bed, Good size TV with cable and a coffee maker was in the room. I was on my own so only myself to please. But certainly a good find and good value.

I nearly missed it despite knowing roughly where it was. The place was exceptionally dark. The motel sign was not illuminated. Not helped by the fact it was pooring down in rain. A few lights would make the place more inviting.

The rest of town is a short drive away, I would have walked but the rain was the worse I have seen in CA. A few OK places to eat.

I would use this place again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road will be quieter. Be aware that Mojave is a railroad town. It generally sees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Mike,

We do our best to keep our motel as clean as possible, and thank you for noticing. We have taken note about the lights and will lighten the dark areas. Thank you for the input we definitely appreciate feedback! Thank you very much for staying at the Desert Inn

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Desert Inn reflects the old-time motels of the ‘30’s but the current owners have painted and fixed up the accommodation that made our room spotless inside. Although typical size for that era’s room, there was a table and 2 chairs, a comfortable king sized bed, desk, microwave, refrigerator, coffee service and still some room to move around. The free wifi had a consistent signal. The free continental breakfast always had at least one kind of fresh fruit to go with the cereals, pastries and juice. The owner went out of his way to make certain our stay was comfortable. Hint: Book so you are there on the third Saturday of the month to enjoy the local Plane Crazy Days where you can walk out on the tarmac at the Mojave Air and Space Port less than a mile away from The Desert Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay at the Desert Inn. We are glad to see you enjoyed our continental breakfast, and took advantage of all of the amenities that we offer.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is an older motel but don't let that deter you. The owner takes PRIDE in the place and it shows. Very fairly priced exceptionally clean. My wife and I stayed here while passing through the area and would not hesitate to do so again.

Room Tip: just off main road look for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the high marks. We are happy to see you and your wife had a good stay at the Desert Inn while in Mojave. Thank you once again for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed one night here while railfanning in the area. Didn't need much in the way of amenities and found the Desert Inn fit the bill - not in a bad way though. Reasonably priced clean comfortable room and very pleasant staff. HUGE fridge if that is important. DirecTV a plus as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Ed,

Thank you for staying at the Desert Inn while you were passing through Mojave. We are glad to read that our motel met and exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for staying at the Desert Inn.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I travel a lot for work so have been in a lot of motels. This place is by far and wide the best ive ever been at. The rooms are comfortable and very well furnished. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud. The rooms were super clean. The owner and his wife are extremely friendly and genuinely look out for their customers. If you ever come to Mojave, Ca, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not staying here. Best in Mojave hands down.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello Will,

Thank you for the recommendation. We are glad to read you had a pleasant nights stay at the Desert Inn. Customer service is one of our main priorities and we do what we can to make sure our guest are as comfortable as possible while staying at our motel. Thank you for choosing the Desert Inn while traveling through Mojave.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
0.6 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Desert Winds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
13.7 mi away
Best Western California City Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave
Motel 6 Mojave
#5 of 8 in Mojave
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Property: Desert Inn
Address: 1954 State Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501-1933
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free highspeed wireles internet 32 eanch lcd tv cable tv with hbo and cont breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Mojave
Desert Motel Mojave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing