We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs - it's a residence for itinerant workers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs - it's a residence for itinerant workers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got no sleep.

The best part of this motel is that it is across from an incredibly noisy train line that runs 24 hours a day. The soothing sounds of freight trains helped drown out the noise of all the rowdy construction workers that are packed 4 to a room.

We were the only travelers staying at this sketchy motel. Aside from all the construction workers, there were a few families living there as well. One room had 6 people in it: 2 adults and 4 children.

We seriously didn't sleep, as the room above us (4 construction workers) partied all night (I mean ALL night) and were either wrestling or throwing things. It went on until 4 am.

At 6 am a crew of 6 or 8 guys stood in front of the room next to ours talking, joking and laughing at the top of their lungs. It happened again at 7 am for the room on the other side.

At 9 am the guys above us started again, standing on the walkway drinking beer, flicking cigarettes over the railing and stumbling up and down the stairs.

Even if it weren't for the guys above us that sounded like they were doing gymnastic floor exercises or perhaps auditioning for Riverdance, the walls were so thin you could clearly hear the conversation of the room on either side. Let's just say there were things I wish I hadn't heard.

The motel itself is dirty. It's threadbare, with stained walls, sticky doors and chipped tile. There was mold in the shower and the carpets were filthy. Towels were stained, the sheets were ancient. Just - ick.

My husband booked this fleabag online, and had we known just how bad it would be we'd have eaten the cost and gotten a room anywhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid!! This place is nasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monarch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIManager_13, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay here. We welcome any suggestions and comments that help us be a better hotel. When you checked out we gave you guys a refund for the night. We hope that you give you another chance in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    8
    1
    9
See reviews for
5
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

the man at the desk was very nice.the room looked good then when we were in there a few minutes i found two dead roaches it kind of horrified me i had visions of lots of these getting in our stuff.the room was ground floor he showed me an upstairs room or very nicely said i could have my money back no problem he was very apologetic i decided that as it was the desert and they were dead.i would stay put . we never saw any other bugs that were alive or dead . and it actually ended up being one of the better rooms . there seemed to be a lot of work crews staying there and it was very quiet.the pool was really to small to be worth using more just for kids.but overall not bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29ratatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This motel is a good choice. The staff is very courteous and accommodating. Nice selection of DVDs and a well kept pool. Close to train tracks but rooms are quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmaymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The only way NOT to be disappointed is to expect the worst! Low-end, horribly noisy road motel at its worst.
Thin walls made me hear every single word from my neighbor's room even when they were not loud [and worse when they became louder]. Noise isolation simply non-existent; Cargo trains pass frequently during the night, and one feels as if they pass under one's pillow. Even the horribly noisy, old heating/cooling system could not mask the outside noises [or other rooms' noises], but every time it went into operation I woke up. I usually sleep VERY soundly. Room was decently clean but the old decor, furniture and bad maintenance made it feel dirty. Unfortunately, my room smelled strongly as well, as I believe will all rooms at this end of the motel [nearer to the office].
I would try ANY other option in town, if I ever have to stay in Mojave again, and I suggest you do too.

Room Tip: another motel, maybe another town if not forced to stay in Mojave - cargo train traffic is constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernani_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mojave hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I liked the proprietor of this motel very much, and it had free internet too. Beyond that, it was nothing but bad news. The parking spaces were too narrow, the room was small and overcrowded with useless furniture, like the small table that one would be afraid to sit anything on because it was so unstable. The blower for the air conditioner has to be the loudest I've ever heard, ruining everything from conversation to TV. The sink faucet was so hard to turn on that my wife couldn't turn it on by herself, and it had hot and cold reversed. There was one small piece of soap, and the rest of the stuff was the liquid variety. If you don't like that, you're out of luck. The wallpaper was ripped, the light over the sink was missing its cover, and so forth. The "continental breakfast" consisted of a tray with four wrapped grocery store buns and a carafe of coffee, watched over like a hawk. The TV was dusty and the floor itself, while it didn't look particularly bad, made me want to keep my socks on. In short, this, my fourth Americas Best Value Inn on my trip, made me think that I don't want to take a chance on this brand anymore. It's rated either a 3 or a 4 by the company, and that is just a joke. It makes even Motel 6 look like luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pets allowed. Clean rooms. Not overpriced. Near a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowtrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi300, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travelers. We take all responses very seriously and we are happy that you found us to be of good value, clean, and with a friendly staff. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Victor Vora
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I usually pass through Mojave for business issues and I used to stay in Days Inn. It was really expensive for me so I thought to try this place and l am glad I came here. This place has everything I need such as high speed wi-fi, microwave and fridge for about $45 a night. Rooms are very neat and clean and staff is very helpful. I would really recommend this place if you are coming to mojave area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolsmithley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
1.2 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Park Hotel
14.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
#5 of 9 in Tehachapi
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 16352 Sierra Highway, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing