We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect the worst of this low-end motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expect the worst of this low-end motel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

The only way NOT to be disappointed is to expect the worst! Low-end, horribly noisy road motel at its worst.
Thin walls made me hear every single word from my neighbor's room even when they were not loud [and worse when they became louder]. Noise isolation simply non-existent; Cargo trains pass frequently during the night, and one feels as if they pass under one's pillow. Even the horribly noisy, old heating/cooling system could not mask the outside noises [or other rooms' noises], but every time it went into operation I woke up. I usually sleep VERY soundly. Room was decently clean but the old decor, furniture and bad maintenance made it feel dirty. Unfortunately, my room smelled strongly as well, as I believe will all rooms at this end of the motel [nearer to the office].
I would try ANY other option in town, if I ever have to stay in Mojave again, and I suggest you do too.

Room Tip: another motel, maybe another town if not forced to stay in Mojave - cargo train traffic is constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernani_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    10
    1
    11
See reviews for
8
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I liked the proprietor of this motel very much, and it had free internet too. Beyond that, it was nothing but bad news. The parking spaces were too narrow, the room was small and overcrowded with useless furniture, like the small table that one would be afraid to sit anything on because it was so unstable. The blower for the air conditioner has to be the loudest I've ever heard, ruining everything from conversation to TV. The sink faucet was so hard to turn on that my wife couldn't turn it on by herself, and it had hot and cold reversed. There was one small piece of soap, and the rest of the stuff was the liquid variety. If you don't like that, you're out of luck. The wallpaper was ripped, the light over the sink was missing its cover, and so forth. The "continental breakfast" consisted of a tray with four wrapped grocery store buns and a carafe of coffee, watched over like a hawk. The TV was dusty and the floor itself, while it didn't look particularly bad, made me want to keep my socks on. In short, this, my fourth Americas Best Value Inn on my trip, made me think that I don't want to take a chance on this brand anymore. It's rated either a 3 or a 4 by the company, and that is just a joke. It makes even Motel 6 look like luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mojave hotels

Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pets allowed. Clean rooms. Not overpriced. Near a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowtrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvi300, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travelers. We take all responses very seriously and we are happy that you found us to be of good value, clean, and with a friendly staff. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Victor Vora
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I usually pass through Mojave for business issues and I used to stay in Days Inn. It was really expensive for me so I thought to try this place and l am glad I came here. This place has everything I need such as high speed wi-fi, microwave and fridge for about $45 a night. Rooms are very neat and clean and staff is very helpful. I would really recommend this place if you are coming to mojave area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolsmithley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

This was a quiet spot with all basic amenities included (pool & hot tub too!). The room had Cable TV, WI-FI, Microwave, Fridge and clean linens and towels. The A/C worked well too. Convenient location next door to a gas station with competitve gas prices and a mini-mart, there were lots of other food choices around but probably not open late (this is a very small town).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

I am surprised by the reviews this motel is getting. Let me tell you the truth about this place because I have stayed here for about 5 month and still continuing. I had to come to Mojave for business at Edward Air Force Base. I needed room for long term stay that is neat and can meet my budget as well. I looked through some these motels online including Americas best value inn, days inn, Best Western and Econolodge and checked pictures, just usual searching. I looked at all these place and checked price and quality. Okay so I am businessman, I needed room with Wi-Fi, Microwave, and Fridge, coffee(addiction!!!!)....and lets not forget the good price!!!!!!. Victor (manager) offered really cheap rates(try bargaining and mention its for long term). Trust me I know this town and this place. Service is good as well. I never had any problems with it.
It looks better then pictures on their website, its spacious.
Cons: Lobby is small(for those who care about lobby??) and usually gets booked out on weekdays .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancynguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

My husband and I got a room for a couple of hours to spend the night. We went in bed to find hundreds of little black nasty bugs all over the sheets in our bed. The Indian man who gave us the room very rude, didn't want to give us our money back and started yelling at us that there is no way he can give us our money back just a different dirty room. He called the police and the police laughed and said "I wouldn't want a different room If i were you to" Don't ever stay here!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma42975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIManager_13, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay here. We welcome any suggestions and comments that help us be a better hotel. When you checked out we gave you guys a refund for the night. We hope that you give you another chance in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
1.4 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street
0.9 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#3 of 8 in Mojave
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 16352 Sierra Hwy, Mojave, CA 93501-1208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing