We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Desert Winds
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We love to go riding in the desert and recently sold our trailer. We thought we would try staying in a hotel instead, and we sure picked the right one! The rooms are nice and they are very clean. The staff are nice AND you get a free breakfast. Not just any breakfast...they had waffles, eggs, biscuits & gravy, and all the other stuff you usually find for a continental breakfast. And the biscuits & gravy were better then most restuarants! We will definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brinduz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 213 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Sweet find in the middle of the desert. Comfortable, clean accommodations and wonderful people. Great stopping place between Northern California and the Southwest! Been going there for years,---even before it was a Best Western.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank pamarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for the great review. I have been at this hotel since 2002 and am delighted to hear good things from our loyal guests. Thanks again and we will see you again the next time you visit our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

An enjoyable stay, with corp discount even though we weren't traveling on business. Comfortable accommodations. Internet worked well in the room (which is always a plus since I hate having to go to the lobby to use it). The hot tub was lovely. The breakfast had hot options, like scrambled eggs, sausage and you could make your own waffles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We love hearing from guest that we have done a good job making them comfortable and happy while they are away from home. Thank you so much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed a couple of times en route to other nearby towns.

This motel was a good price, reasonable location in Mojave. Would be happy to stay here again.

Have read some of the reviews, not sure what people are expecting for a Mojave motel.

It did the job.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for one night due to the Tehachapi pass being closed due to snow. They were accommodating in letting us check in at 11am. Front desk clerk was very friendly.
The room was fine although the heater thermostat did not enable you to fine tune the heat. Keep in mind we just came from the Best Western in Barstow which was very nice.
My husband discovered after check in that they they charged us an extra $20. Wait, what? In case we added incidentals....
The room was fine.
Breakfast experience was poor. The Breakfast room was nice and large and they could easily add 2 more tables so people would not have to wait. The breakfast bar was poorly organized. You had to wait to grab your plate because the person buttering their waffle was in your way. Everyone had to prepare their waffle there because of only one syrup pitcher. They didn't have real butter only Promise. The sausages were laying in a pool of grease in the pan. And my orange juice was so watered down I couldn't drink it. It would not take much effort on their part to improve the breakfast experience. Visit the Best Western in Barstow and check out their breakfast room. They do a great job!
The desk clerk was gracious when we checked out. She checked our room and immediately credited the $20 back to our account.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank thanksucsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

I was somewhat surprised by this review. All Best Westerns are inspected every 6 months and we always get an above average grade, The reservation system we use always authorizes the credit card for $20.00 over the amount of stay to cover any incidentals but releases that upon check out and only charges for the amount of stay. This is common for most hotels. The breakfast room has a certain amount of tables as to allow for clear walkways in between tables. This room is also evaluated and we have one of the highest scores in the breakfast area. The breakfast counter runs from wall to wall and is arranged according to Best Western standards, with plates and silverware at one end of the counter. The orange juice is from concentrate that is automatically mixed within the minute maid juice machine. and the sausage, eggs, and gravy are in an electric food warmer to keep them hot, and are made fresh daily by the breakfast cook that is there for the full time breakfast is being served.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Was getting late and we ran out of freeway and into this BW. We were not disappointed. Very helpful staff, clean room and what a great bed. Plus both my husband and I love the sound of trains...grew up with them. Slept so good we missed breakfast but right next door was a Denney's and it too was excellent. We would stay here again and plan to on our next trip to Southern Ca.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Thanks Again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

No internet service during stay, not forewarned, though they knew internet was down. Room was so-so, breakfast was poor compared to most Best Western's we've stayed at. No elevator. Unclean tub (hair left on walls and tub from previous customers). It says Best Western Plus but it was not as nice as any of the Best Western's (plus or not) that we visited on this trip. We suggest you drive on to the next Best Western or other brand hotel if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank luckystars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
1.3 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
13.9 mi away
Best Western California City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
14.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
#6 of 8 in Tehachapi
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Winds

Address: 16200 Sierra Hwy, Mojave, CA 93501-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range: $104 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing