We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Desert Winds
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this Best Western on our way home from Arizona at the beginning of April. It was a reasonable price (around $80) and adequate. The carpet could have used some help, but other than that, it was clean and comfortable. We noticed the train noise when we first got there, but they didn't seem to run after about 10 pm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your delightful review of our hotel. we appreciate all comments made that will help us make any improvements possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Desert Winds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 202 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is A standard facility. Comfortable room. A/C a bit annoying, but no road noise issues. breakfast pretty standard, in nice separate build VERY nice staff. We had some plumbing problems. Parking was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank You for your review. We like to hear from our guests to helpus with any improvements that can be made to make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Mojave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an older motel but the rooms have all been renovated. Super clean & quiet! The breakfast is served in a small bldg next to the hotel lobby, very nice hot spread, Would definitely recommend this for people staying in Mojave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlm1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. As always it is great to hear a good review for our hotel and we are constantly using these reviews to make our guests stay as enjoyable as we possibly can. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us and again . Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed overnight on a weeknight on our way to Death Valley from Los Angeles. We had a great room (2 Queens), and the refrigerator and microwave were much appreciated. The room was super clean, smelled great, and the beds were super comforable. The flat screen TV offered a good variety of channels. We used the free WiFi which was also appreciated. The trains at night were not unduly bothersome. The free breakfast was ready when advertised and was just fine; the eggs and sausage were very good and the breakfast room was very clean and orderly. All the service people we encountered were very friendly and helpful. This hotel offers great value for the money; it is perfect for single friends traveling together and we will definitely return and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for the great review. As always it is great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and that all of the staff did a great job. It is an honor to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LINDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are visiting Mojave, this is the place to stay. The rooms are very spacious, and the beds are very comfortable. As I would expect staying close to the train tracks, the noise was noticeable at times but was not a nuisance, unless you have inconsiderate neighbors who slam their doors in the middle of the night. The A/C works quick and quietly. The TV has a decent amount of channels, from the food network, to Discovery. The bathroom was very clean as expected. Of course, I did have some minor inconveniences. First of all, the Exfoliating Massage Body Bar felt more like sandpaper then soap. The lemongrass was peeling my skin more than it was exfoliating. Second, the shower handle was somewhat difficult to use. It took me a while to figure it out how to turn on the water. Other than that, I had a great stay and hope to have the opportunity to stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own soap. Try to ask for a room away from the main street if you don't want to hear a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elcyberguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for writing a review our our hotel. We greatly appreciate any comments that help to make our customers stay more enjoyable and I will definately look into a different soap. Thank you so much for the advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This motel has a good staff and breakfast. We slept well here, but did hear the trains a bit. The carpeting needs cleaning and the room was of average cleanliness. It was sufficient for one night on a road trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. I would like to appologize for the noise of the trains. We strive to make all stays enjoyable and appreciate all reviews, even the not so good ones. Thank you for taking the time and effort to comment on our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
1.3 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Best Western California City Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Winds

Address: 16200 Sierra Highway, Mojave, CA 93501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range: $104 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing