We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean hotel in a perfect spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel in a perfect spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were driving all day from Flagstaff, AZ and arrived at the Desert Winds without having a reservation. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I asked for two rooms to be adjacent or at least very close together. She got us rooms 102 and 103 which ere on the ground floor in a corner next to the pool and vending machine. First I thought "What a nightmare", but it turned out to be no problem. Like other reviewers mentioned the main street and the train tracks run close to the hotel but this was no problem at all for us. We heard nothing inside the room. After checking in we set the AC to high to cool down the room and sat at the pool for a few hours enjoying some wine. When we went to bed we set the AC to the "low cool" mode which kept the room cool overnight and wasn't too noisy. Actually all members of my party confirmed that they had the best night sleep of the past several nights. I myself slept like a log. The train or traffic weren't audible in the room and the matress was excellent!
The next morning we had breakfast in the little breakfast room across the driveway. Again, the room doesn't look like much but the breakfast buffet offered everything a warm breakfast should have. MYO waffles, toast, eggs, joices, coffee, cereals, etc. WiFi also worked in the breakfast room.
The room rates are very reasonable. The hotel was clean, the rooms were clean and the beds were very good. We enjoyed our stay and I can highly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay after a long day in the desert. I'll stay here again when travelling this route.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AchimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you Achim W for your review of our hotel. It was very nice to hear from you and hope to see you again in the future. Again thank you very much for your compliments on our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    34
    16
    3
See reviews for
41
63
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having travelled over 300 miles we were extremeley tired upon arrival at the Desert Winds. We had already pre booked a quiet room on the top floor but we got niether. The check in receptionist advised us that a film crew had booked most of the rooms so we were allocated a ground floor room.
For most of the night we were kept awake with traffic noise from the main highway and the train line which both run directly in front of the hotel.
Then at 4-15am a member of the inconsiderate film crew started up his deisel engined truck right in front of our room and left it running while unattended for 30mins. Also another member of the same film crew was slamming drawers and doors above us.
Our advise to anyone is find a different hotel in a different town

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as far away from the car park and main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Please accept my appologies for the not so great experience you had. I do agree that at time the highway noise and trains can be loud and this is a problem for all hotels located in Mojave. I do realize that sometimes the film crews do not remember that there are others trying to sleep. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests, and hope to be given the opportunity again to provide the service you deserve.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's been a few years since I reviewed this motel, but with the construction I think a new review is needed. The work being done is a real pain. The main driveway is blocked so have to use the side street. We were tired and just wanted to crash, but workers in the next room kept banging until 5. We needed a ground floor ADA room and no other hotels had rooms. It was noisy only for 20 minutes, but I was already nodding at the wheel and that saws-all might as well have been in the next bed. Room was okay. Loading the car the next morning with the craftsmen everywhere wasn't fun either. I would not recommend this motel (or at least the front building) until all the work has been completed. If you need to stay here check first as there are two separate buildings.

Room Tip: Construction, so call first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisenut2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy to say that all construction is complete and all the newest ADA compliance needs are in place, We have more ADA rooms and have made it more accessable for wheel chairs in all areas of the hotel. I do realize that the construction process was a large pain, but the end results were worth it.

Kind Regards, and we hope to see you again.
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Outstanding place for a value hotel. I chose it because it had a sleeper sofa so we could sleep five. Our room was huge. Everything was very clean. The pool was enjoyable and the staff nice. If you are there when a strong desert wind is blowing (as we were), you will really enjoy it. It was something to experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank the72fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review, We strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great value! Was on a road trip and booked a 2 bed room for 4 people and it was under $90! Place was quiet, never heard any of the highway noise that other reviewers heard. Room was spacious, clean, and everything was in great working condition. The breakfast was good, hot and there was plenty of it! The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToughMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review! It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again.

Thanks again,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

While I was leery about staying the night in Mojave, I was suprised to find an acceptable place to stay. The price was somewhat reasonable in the $90 range for a Friday night. The room was clean. The bed wasn't real comfortable, but the cleanliness and quiet made for a good night sleep anyway. The breakfast was decent. Everything was acceptable and average, and considering the location.. I say that is pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apeakhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, I apologize for taking so long to respond as I was having trouble understanding how to use this page, but I got it now. I an very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

It's rare that a hotel/motel can genuinely earn 4 or 5 stars. This is one of them. An impeccably clean room with everrything placed just right. Heater worked perfectly on a chilly night. Housekeeper did a perfect job. Front desk clerks were helpful and very courteous. TV and computer wireless connections were excellent. Full breakfast, not continental, with eggs, sausage or bacon, gravy, bisccuits, pastries, cereals (hot and ccld), muffins, toast, coffee, several juices, all of which were very good and very welcome early in the morning. With limited mobility, I was pleased with parking right outside my door. Didn't use the pool or spa, but they appeared to be most inviting. Convenient to Caifornia City, Tehachapi, and the Tehachapi Loop (trains-well worth seeing--check out U-Tube), all just a short distance from Mojave. But, no 5 star or gourmet restaurants in this small desert town. What they have is adequate and satisfactory. Beware, some places in town close early if no customers. I would highly recommend this to others and plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: If limited mobility, request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagwood70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review. Sorry that is took so long to respond but I really enjoyed reading your review. thank you so much.

Kind Regards,
Kathy Benson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
1.3 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
14.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
#6 of 8 in Tehachapi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Property: BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Address: 16200 Sierra Hwy, Mojave, CA 93501-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing