We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Desert Winds
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December 2011 while visiting our son. We were gone for the day and came back in the evening. The room was not bad. But the area is very noisy at night. I did not get one night of sleep. We did not get fresh sheets put on the bed one day, even though we left the sign on the door to let them know that we needed them. The outside picture of the hotel is very misleading. I did not like the area where it is located. The area looks very run down and there is a train track right across the street that runs at night which adds to the already noisy area. This area is also a place for truck drivers to stop over night as well. So you will be dealing with loud trucks at night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

I wouldn't have called this one a BW Plus, but there was nothing bad about it; just nothing exceptional. Good decor, though and definitely clean. The people were real nice; gave me a good deal. The breakfast was nice, but lacked the fresh fruit and yogurt I've come to expect; otherwise just fine. Was located very close to the airport which I didn't even know existed until the morning; so it was quite enough. Staying in Boron would have been closer to my rendezvous spot, but it was scarey just driving by. I'm glad I drove the extra miles and stayed in Mojave. The BW looked like it was the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Spending the might in Mojave was not at all on my Bucket List, but when wild fires forced us from our home, and all the hotels in Tehachapi were filled with fire-fighters (bless their hearts), our closest option was the Best Western in Mojave.

I did not have very high expectations, frankly.

Having said that, you can probably guess that I was very pleasantly surprised.

First of all, the lovely young lady in reception was smiling and cheerful and quite sympathetic to our plight. We had spent the previous night not sleeping at all in our van and I asked her if we could get a room well away from the highway. (Highway 14 gets very heavy truck traffic.)

She was able to accommodate our wish and we had a room (407, I think) in a part of the hotel that is actually a separate building from the main one.

The room was very clean and was as well appointed as any BW I've been in. There was a fridge in the room and a microwave. The WiFi connection was very good. I really can't think of anything negative to say about this BW.

We had a nice breakfast in the hospitality room, with hot foods including waffles, sausage, and bacon, as well as the usual fare.

Perhaps it was because we were so exhausted, but I slept very peacefully and never once heard traffic noise from Highway 14.. There are also train tracks on the other side of the highway and I didn't hear one train either.

Don't be put off by the looks: this is a very nice place to spend the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway, in the separate building at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night. We were very impressed with the hotel. The room( 2 x queen beds) was clean and had comfortable beds, a fridge and coffee maker.
Free Internet had a good connection.
There was also a small swimming pool and tub which were great to cool down in!
The continental breakfast was fine with a choice of items.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Recently returned from an overnighter at the Best Western Plus Desert Winds in Mojave, CA.
The hotel does not appear to be much from the street but I was very pleased by the clean, modern look and feel of the room. The two queen bed room, with microwave, refrigerator and flat screen television was reasonably priced, after applying our AAA discount, and was well worth the stay. If you are ever in Mojave and need a place to stay, the Best Western Plus Desert Winds is an excellent choice. The fast and friendly service and the full breakfast the next morning was frosting on the cake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed at the Desert Winds while stopping over in Mojave CA. Not much to say about the town, but the hotel was just what we needed after a five hour drive. The room was neat and clean. Nice flat screen TV; internet connection was strong. Plenty of coffee packets, soaps, etc. Comfortable bed. Extremely friendly staff. But the clincher for us was the free continental breakfast in the morning. The Desert Winds has a large room adjacent to the check-in reserved just for that. You can see it to the extreme left of the picture. Fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, waffles, juices, cereals and oatmeal, and of course hot coffee. This motel was just we needed before our next day's trip up to Yosemite. If we ever return to Mojave we are definitely staying at the Desert Winds.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPantalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

What a great find. The motel was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding. We had everything from biscuits with gravey, ham/bacon and of course sweet rolls and cereal. This was a nice stop between Nevada and over to the Sacramento Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Podunct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
1.3 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Best Western California City Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lancaster
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
14.4 mi away
Inn Tehachapi
Inn Tehachapi
#7 of 8 in Tehachapi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Desert Winds

Address: 16200 Sierra Hwy, Mojave, CA 93501-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range: $104 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing