We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I stayed for a brief overnight stay on September 10, 2007. The check-in process was smooth and uneventful which is good news. My room was a non-smoking with a comfortable king size bed. You can tell that the room (including the bathroom) was recently updated with a new linens and a fresh coat of paint.

I did not partake in the free breakfast the next morning so I can't really comment on the quality of the food. For the price of the room (less than $100), there were no major problems that I found.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Socallawgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2007

After reading the stellar previous review, we chose to stay at this Comfort Inn, instead of the neighboring Courtyard Marriott.

Check-in was super smooth and the desk clerk was very hospitable. We requested on our reservation a "quiet room" and the room we received was on the first floor, right next to a lovely waterfall with a koi pond. A microwave, small refrigerator and coffeemaker were also in the room.

My only concern is once again there were NOT ENOUGH towels in the bathroom! Two guests, two sets of bathtowels, please!

The hotel is quiet. A continental breakfast in the morning, great coffee and plenty of newspapers in the lobby.

All staff was pleasant and accomodating. We'll be staying at a Comfort Inn in the future

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank PetuniaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

This is now a Comfort Inn, and was nicer than we thought it would be, based on the price (we did get a significant disount with our organization membership, however). This was a short overnight stop on a long road trip this past weekend, but I wish we had had time to stay longer.

I booked ahead and requested a quiet location because we would be arriving around midnight, and called several hours before our arrival to make sure someone would be at the front desk. They were very helpful and friendly, even at midnight, we got a great quiet location facing a lovely courtyard with a pond and the pool, not the freeway, and the room was very clean. There was a slight antiseptic aroma when we first entered the room but it was gone after a minute or so. The quiet room vent and pillow-top mattress made for a quick trip to Dreamland. They provided three pillows for our king bed but we always bring our own so I can't comment on the quality of the pillows (they aren't feather/down and they aren't those awful super-fat foam monstrosities). The only slightly negative thing was that they didn't use a fitted sheet on the bottom, the flat sheet wasn't tucked in very well, and my husband's side came out during the night (but he didn't notice it so no sleep lost). The bathroom was small but had a recently tiled floor, a nice bowed shower curtain rod making for a roomy shower, and the sink had a new granite countertop. The fridge was great for chilling our drinks and refreezing our cooler’s ice packs. There was also a small (!) coffeemaker and a microwave that we didn't need this time. There's a free breakfast but we had to leave before it was served (6 am on Sundays). The pool looked nice and free internet is available, too, but we didn’t have time to use those, either.

If we ever need to stop in Modesto again, this is definitely where we'll stay, and hopefully we’ll have enough time to enjoy the things we missed this time.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aimless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Near San Francisco, CA
12
Reviewed December 4, 2005

My family stayed at the Quality Inn in Modesto, CA because of the convenient location, free continental breakfast and reasonable rates.

It truly looked like someone had taken time to renovate and modernize this hotel, but these benefits were quickly outweighed by the aging hotel building and the gang grafitti in the rickety elevator. We quickly got the idea that this hotel was probably not the safest.

We quickly got to our tiny, less-than-sparkling room and locked the door. We felt like prisoners in our hotel room. Our suspicions about the hotel were confirmed with a 4:00 am pounding or kicking on the door.

The room itself was a disappointment: it was very small, complete with creaky floors, low water pressure, poor TV reception and a loud refrigerator that kept us up late.

The hotel staff was unresponsive and rude. Even upon first arriving to the hotel, the front desk clerk was visibly upset that she had to stop taking her break to check us in.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Selma, ca
11
Reviewed July 30, 2005

When we first walked in the lobby it smeeled terribly like bug spray. Outside facilities appear updated however rooms and interior needs work. Staff was not very friendly. Rolled their eyes at us when we asked for sweet and low. In the morning when we woke up there was a drunk young man passed out in front of our door. My son was very scared. It took the staff a good five minutes befoetr they came up and addressed the problem. Would not reccomend unless there is nothing else.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Serg19652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#16 of 20 in Modesto
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2025 W Orangeburg Ave, Modesto, CA 95350-3741 (Formerly "Quality Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Modesto
Modesto Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing