We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel for Stopover between Yosemite and San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for Stopover between Yosemite and San Francisco”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Good, Clean Tidy Hotel for stopping over when travelling between Yosemite and San Francisco.
Check in was very quick with efficient staff.
Buffet Breakfast choice was OK
Pool Area is good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    307
    138
    64
    27
See reviews for
180
141
50
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

As much as I love Hilton family hotels (Gold member), they sometimes have a bizarre hankering for putting hotels in noisy train track locations, such as the Hampton Inn in Red Bluff and the Homewood Suites SFO North. This hotel is not only located across the street from train tracks, but at a site where the freight trains are legally required to blow their horns all night long. That being said, I got a room on the 7th floor away from the tracks and wasn't bothered--especially since I had to have earplugs on due to staying with a friend who snores like a jet engine.
Other than that, it's a pretty nice place. I'm no Modesto expert, but I really do suspect it's the nicest place in town (it's gotta be better than the Best Western or Comfort Inn--it is, after all, a full-service hotel). The parking lot across the street is no big deal since there's a bridge on the 3rd floor, so one doesn't have to lug one's suitcase in the street. Often there is no attendant there, so you may not want to tell the front desk you drove in, as you may not have to pay (but it's only $6 anyways).
Rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, although the TV wasn't flat screen or HD. The pool is fine for lap swimming, with a view of the parking lot. The gym is surprisingly large for a hotel, and well-maintained. Although the location suffers from the freight tracks, it is within easy walking distance to a movie complex, park, county offices, and some restaurants and clubs. It's across the street from the bus transportation hub for the county (but there is no passenger train station).
The hotel's restaurant served good food and wine at a fair price (but the wine we wanted on the list wasn't available, and they gave us a wine which wasn't on the list instead). The service in the restaurant was good for breakfast but lousy for dinner. The lousy dinner service was all the more galling because there was only one couple there--and for only half the time we were there. At one point the waiter asked if we wanted ground pepper for the salad. We said yes, then he disappeared without a trace. I can't quite imagine where he was going during all of his prolonged absences.
This is a good, solid 3 1/2 * hotel. It has enough soundproofing so that on the far side the freight train blasts won't bother either a deep sleeper or one with earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed on a saturday night while traveling. I would stay again if in the area. I would not make this a destination but a good place to stop if you are tired. The hotel is downtown and there is a movie theater a block away with several restaurants and clubs within 2 blocks. The hotel has a good bar and restaurant open late.The only thing i did not like was parking in a lot across the street. There is no parking on the property except valet. The train runs 1 block away but did not bother us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

I travel often for business and Doubletree is my least favorite chain because they are so inconsistant. That said, this place is very nice.

So here is what I loved about this place:
Excellent service from start to finish
Very clean
Comfortable beds- great bedding
Decent size rooms
Good room service meals
Nice business center


Here is what I didnt like so much:
The parking garage is across the street. Our company has a policy against using valet parking, as the parking attendant would have to drive the car. So, I had to walk across the street in rain, wind, etc. That is a major drawback if you are taking computer equipment with you everyda. The parking garage is also kind of creepy at night, not well lit.
The train does make some noise, it didnt cause me to loose any sleep, but you can definately hear it through out the hotel.
NO MICROWAVES IN ANY OF THE ROOMS! This sucks, Doubletree! I need a microwave. I will be coming back to Modesto for 5 weeks in the summer and will likely stay elsewhere because I cant go with out a microwave.
Downtown Modesto is not the most desirable place to be. Enough said.

Overall, this is a fine hotel. Good service, good clean rooms.....
I really enjoyed my stay and if I would stay here again if they had a microwave so I can eat my own food.
Just a few drawbacks which may not be a big deal to you!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevJoenathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Quick access off the highway to the hotel - just minutes. The room was clean, had a nice desk area with a good chair, a small couch with coffee table and most important was the bed was very comfortable. Hotel is located downtown.

The only real issue with the hotel is that despite the comfortable bed, train tracks are only 50 - 100 yards from the hotel and in middle of the night multiple trains rumbled through blowing their horns. Unless you are a very sound sleeper, odds are you will not sleep through it.

Nearby is a Sports Bar (Heroe's) offering a good sandwiches and salads and it is right across the street from the hotel. In the morning, a Starbuck's is conveiently located to the front of the hotel. Only took about 2 minutes to get there.

Though I did not use it, there is a parking garage across the street from the hotel.

  • Liked — Located downtown
  • Disliked — Train noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rogerwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2008

As soon as we arrived to the hotel and went up to our room, it felt like something was baking in that room. If it was 90 degrees outside it was 100 in the room. Thinking that maybe it was because of the heat outside, i lowered the AC to the lowest it goes, 55 degrees and left for dinner. When i returned it was a little cooler but only 70 degrees. I told the front desk and they were going to send someone to look at the AC system but I think the AC is programmed not to go any lower than 70.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marlene963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City/San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

The Doubletree isnt all its cracked up to be in Modesto. I was in town with a friend and we had the doorman valet park our car as we were in a rush and didnt want to have to WALK ACROSS THE STREET to a parking garage that was dimly lit in the middle of downtown Modesto (not the nicest area). Inside the hotel was lovely, the rooms were fine, clean, roomy bathroom, comfy beds, all as excpected from the Doubletree. The staff on the other hand, how can i put this politely..were just a bit rude and "off". Maybe its me, but i felt as if they were staring at me for no specific reason? I would recommend staying at the Red Lion Hotel over the Doubletree in this case, lower cost, better customer service and the rooms were probably if not a touch below the Doubletree.

  • Liked — The Cookies :)
  • Disliked — Staff was lousy, bad area of town
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hookradio1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#15 of 20 in Modesto
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing