We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night sleep EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Folsom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst night sleep EVER”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Let me start by saying I travel alot and have been a "Diamond" HHonors member (Hiltons highest level) for 8 years. When I travel Double Tree is my "Goldilocks" hotel choice of "not to formal, Not to casual" so I seek them out. I was in Modesto for a one night stay and picked this Double tree, Called them to make sure i was away from the train noises and the REALLY nice person on he phone assured me i was.. WRONG

I'm on the 10th floor (Staying here now) and i was awoken every 60-90 minutes BY TRAINS.

Now there's a simple fix for this and it's NOT the earplugs the hotel provide in it's rooms. One of the Hiltons i stay at is at the airport in Amsterdam, NL. It's a 2 minute walk to the terminal so it's location is really close to the noise of the planes and guess what.. The rooms are SILENT because they have triple pained widows to completely block ALL outside noise.

So

If you are sensitive to noise when you sleep this hotel is NOT for you. Yes the people who work here are very kind BUT they can't make the train noise go away

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FolsomDude01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel staff and we appreciate your status of a Diamond member as well. We continue to work directly with City and State authoities to achieve a quiet zone by our hotel. We are very sorry you were not put on the quiet side of the hotel but I can assure you your request will be met during your next stay. We sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to impress you when your in the Modesto area again.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    318
    141
    68
    27
See reviews for
183
145
51
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here in August 2013, for a friend's party.
Like most Doubletree hotels, it was a pretty nice place at a pretty decent price.
We went out walking around, and the neighborhood seemed a little sketchy, but the hotel itself was nice.
I've stayed at a few Doubletrees, and they are pretty consistent. Always a good value for the money.
Should you be in Modesto, and need a place to stay, give this place a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonomamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about the Brand and especially our hotel. We hope that if you ever find yourself in Modesto again we will be your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a second time. Our first trip was in December and there was a problem with our room not being ready and then when it was the carpets were soaking wet and it made the room dank and musty (turns out they shampooed the carpets that day and they were still wet). They offered us a $50 credit towards our next stay so we went again and this time the room looked great but the toilet didn't work and the next morning when we went to shower we realized they installed the faucet dial incorrectly (so hot points to cold and vice versa) which turned out to be a moot point since there was no hot water to be had. I don't want to try again even with $50 off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you letting us know of your experience in the hotel. We truly apologize for all of the inconviences that you suffered while staying with us. We certainly hope that you do choose us again and when you are ready to do so please give me a call so I can personally make your reservation for you.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was quoted $100 over the phone. I noticed my card was charged $150 on a Sunday night!!! No one even returned my call. I am very unhappy with the price and some service. I could have gone down the street with a similar hotel for cheaper. You don't get what you pay for, sorry to say. Ok well that's that. Good luck on trying to use your AAA discount card also. They wouldn't give me a discount ....

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mohammad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are concerned that you were quoted one price however billed a higher price. Please feel free to call me at anytime to discuss this further so we can make it right. Hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I do not sleep well the first night in a hotel. Now, I'm not going to say that by some miracle I slept all night, but I will say I had the best first night sleep I think I've ever had. The restaurant had good food both nights, and the service was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and the services that we offer. We put a lot of time into training and we are so happy you noticed. We are in hopes that you will continue to choose us on any future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

DoubleTree Hotel has always come through for me whether it's business or leisure. My family and I always enjoyed staying at the hotel, but I was disappointed at my last stay. For the value, it's pretty nondescript. Stayed on the 6th floor, and the carpets are musty and dirty, as in needing to be shampooed. Granted that it's an older hotel, I understand it has been refurnished

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I will personally inspect the room that you stayed in so that this does not happen again to any future guests. We are in hopes that if you visit the Modesto area again you will give us a second chance to impress you.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The room I was in is in desperate need of attention, from the carpet! gross to the un-matching granite wow..Main train line is across the street so sleep will not be something you will get a lot of during your stay. parking if you get your ticket validated it wont cost you A dime, I didn't get my cookie upon check in, did you? WE WERE HERE ON BUSINESS FOR OUR JOB AND THEY EXPECTED US TO USE OUR CREDIT CARD,, WHEN THE EXPENSE REPORT GETS FOWARDED TO OUR JOB FOR PAYMENT, DO THEY THINK WE WOULD JEPODIZE OUR JOB??? ....IN THE EVENT WE TRASHED THE ROOM ETC,

Room Tip: ask to sleep away from "L" street..away from train station, and nobody talks to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krysani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We know that you were disappointed in your stay and we will take steps to improve. We are in hopes that if you are in the Modesto area again, you will give us a second chance to impress you.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
270 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing