We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was quoted $100 over the phone. I noticed my card was charged $150 on a Sunday night!!! No one even returned my call. I am very unhappy with the price and some service. I could have gone down the street with a similar hotel for cheaper. You don't get what you pay for, sorry to say. Ok well that's that. Good luck on trying to use your AAA discount card also. They wouldn't give me a discount ....

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mohammad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are concerned that you were quoted one price however billed a higher price. Please feel free to call me at anytime to discuss this further so we can make it right. Hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 963 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I do not sleep well the first night in a hotel. Now, I'm not going to say that by some miracle I slept all night, but I will say I had the best first night sleep I think I've ever had. The restaurant had good food both nights, and the service was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and the services that we offer. We put a lot of time into training and we are so happy you noticed. We are in hopes that you will continue to choose us on any future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

DoubleTree Hotel has always come through for me whether it's business or leisure. My family and I always enjoyed staying at the hotel, but I was disappointed at my last stay. For the value, it's pretty nondescript. Stayed on the 6th floor, and the carpets are musty and dirty, as in needing to be shampooed. Granted that it's an older hotel, I understand it has been refurnished

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I will personally inspect the room that you stayed in so that this does not happen again to any future guests. We are in hopes that if you visit the Modesto area again you will give us a second chance to impress you.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The room I was in is in desperate need of attention, from the carpet! gross to the un-matching granite wow..Main train line is across the street so sleep will not be something you will get a lot of during your stay. parking if you get your ticket validated it wont cost you A dime, I didn't get my cookie upon check in, did you? WE WERE HERE ON BUSINESS FOR OUR JOB AND THEY EXPECTED US TO USE OUR CREDIT CARD,, WHEN THE EXPENSE REPORT GETS FOWARDED TO OUR JOB FOR PAYMENT, DO THEY THINK WE WOULD JEPODIZE OUR JOB??? ....IN THE EVENT WE TRASHED THE ROOM ETC,

Room Tip: ask to sleep away from "L" street..away from train station, and nobody talks to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krysani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We know that you were disappointed in your stay and we will take steps to improve. We are in hopes that if you are in the Modesto area again, you will give us a second chance to impress you.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stay here frequently for business travel. The people are fantastic, and I've never had any problems what-so-ever. Great service in the bar and restaurant, as well as at the front desk. Ask for the quite side, only downside is close to the RR tracks, but still a great place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of your kind comments and we are in hopes that you will choose us again when visiting the Modesto area.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Only stay at the Modesto Double Tree if you must. The room I was in is in desperate need of attention from the cleaning crews and maintenance staff. Trip and fall issue with the carpet, filth in the return vent in the bathroom. Main train line is accross the street so sleep will not be something you will get a lot of during your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are always looking for ways to improve so your comments will not go unnoticed. We are in hopes that you will give us a second chance when visiting the Modesto area again.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This Hilton in Modesto wasn't a value. I hadn't been to this location before so I was willing to spend extra to make sure I had a safe place to stay. There were plenty of hotels around, but I paid more, expecting nice accommodations. The room was nice, but bathroom smelled musty, awful! The ice maker on my floor was broken. When I checked in I requested extra towels and was told, "of course, no problem". Never saw them. The valet parking cost $16. a day or self park for $10. The self park was on another block & underground. Not safe at night. The staff was very friendly. Really nothing special or Hiltonesque here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and will pass them along to the staff for improvement. We are in hopes that if you are in the Modesto area again you will choose our hotel.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
299 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range: $119 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing