We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more expensive that I would expect for location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, United States
2 reviews
“A little more expensive that I would expect for location”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was about average for a 3 star. It is very impressive from the outside and the lobby is nice. The room are good. The location is right beside train tracks so if you have trouble sleeping through trains you'll want to get as high up as possible. The dowtown location is almost like a ghost town. It was a bit eerie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. During your next visit please see the front desk as we have a variety of activities in the Downtown area that may be of interest. We thank you for choosing our property during your travels to Modesto and we hope that you will return again.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    322
    142
    68
    29
See reviews for
185
147
51
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a really nice stay at the DoubleTree Hotel in Modesto June 1, 2013. We were there for a family wedding. Rooms were nice and very clean. Service in All departments were sepurb. I do miss the free breakfast you use to get when you stayed at the Hilton Chains. None the less we had breakfast buffet in the hotel. The selection seemed to be the last of everything at 10:00am. However the waitress was more then accomadating, had the cook make my mom fresh pancakes. They were out of cream cheese for the 2 bagles left, out of Orange Juice, out of bacon. Again very accomadating when it was brought to their attention.
We had a real fire drill and it went very smooth. Although a little rattling for the girls in the wedding party, no one was any worse for wear in the expereince. They were very professional and promp in how they handled the emergency. (Something happened in the laundry room).

Jorge in Valet/Bell Hop was the employee of the week-end for us. His level of customer service when above and beyond. My mom having walking disabilities always made sure she had a place we could park that was close to the front door and she never had to carry anything. Jorge was alwasy there with a smile on his face to greet us. Great way to Represent the hotel, way to go Jorge!!!!! For him 5 stars. My mom had a crush on him by the time we left and told everyone how wonderful her was to her.

My biggest suggestion is in regard to the air conditioning in the room. It was close to 100 degrees in Modesto over the week-end. The room a/c never made it below the 71 mark. Although I set the a/c to 67, clearly it was regulated as the room never really was cooled down. We even took the precaution of keeping the drapes closed. As a result is made the room uncomfortable to sleep at night. It was way too warm for my taste.

Over all it was a good stay and I would recommend the hotel to anyone stay there. It is very centrally located and only a few blocks for anything you might need in way of a resturant, drug store, etc.

Room Tip: We always choose a room close to the elevator. No problem with any noise or disruptions. I dont have...
See more room tips
Green Features: They did have eco friendly trash cans but they were very small.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I will personally thank Jorge for his wonderful service. Your comments will not go unnoticed! I was very happy to hear the restaurant was accomodating and I will address the shortage of food as this is not our standard. I apologize for the heat in your room. We will also make adjustments to our cooling tower to accomodate the rising temperatures. We sincerely apologize that you had to keep your blinds closed. Thanks again for your positive review and we will make adjustments accodingly to ensure all future guests are cared for well. We certainly hope that you select us again as your Hotel brand of choice.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the only place to stay when in Modesto. It rates perfectly on all counts, clean, friendly, soft perfect pillows and bed linens, rooms have been updated, parking is ample and convenient, walking distance to great restaurants, easy freeway access, room service was exactly on time and exactly what we ordered. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and all of the fantastic words you had to say regarding our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and I am so happy to hear that all of our efforts equated to more than a pleasant experience for you. Please come back and visit us again when travelling to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very enjoyable stay, good location, walking distance for things to do. Room was clean and enjoyable. Restaurant and bar was also enjoyable. Was able to eat in the bar also. Service was great. Hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank cobra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass along all of your positive comments to the staff and especially the Chef. Please come back and visit us again on your future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Double Trees are generally well run properties and this was no exception. Located in the heart of Modesto, the hotel was in easy walking distance to shops and downtown businesses. Convenient to the courthouse as well.

The room was a bit pricey but worth it since I could just park my car and walk during my stay.

Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. I will pass along your comments to the staff and we hope that you choose our Hotel for all future visits to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of nowhere, had to stay here for a business meeting. Hotel itself is nice with good service. Parking is across the street over a bridge. This hotel is truly in the middle of nowhere, but if you had to go there for a meeting, thank goodness for a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and we hope that you will stay with us again on your future travels through the Modesto area.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stay at this property for business and always receive a hospitable and sincere welcome upon my arrival. The rooms are nice....not extraordinary, but comfortable, clean and roomy. The evening reception desk staff are awesome. The bar/restaurant has a knowledgeable staff and a great happy hour. The food is good at the restaurant with other choices accessible within a short walk from the hotel. A very nice downtown Modesto property if you don't want to be out in the suburban sprawl. Parking is an issue. Why you end up paying for parking in Modesto, $9 Self and $16 Valet is a bit of a head scratcher but not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from train tracks,. The whistle in the morning can be jarring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see that we were able to impress you with our service. We conduct extensive training classes on delivering exceptional service and I am glad it was noticable during your stay. I am also glad to hear that the parking fee was not a deal breaker for you and we hope that you continue to stay with us on your future travels to Modesto.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
398 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing