We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 23, 2012

From the moment you check in until the time you exit the property, the hotel and staff are worthy of the Hilton name. My wife and I were pleased by the friendly and helpful staff of this Doubletree Hotel. They went beyond their call to make sure our visit an enjoyable, memorable experience. Our room on the tenth floor commanded a speculator view of Modesto and the surrounding foothills. We enjoyed the sunset, quietness of our room, and all the amenities within our room. It was Thanksgiving eve and the hotel lobby was decorated with an elegant Christmas tree and made us feel that we were in a first class hotel. And of course their signature Doubletree cookies were a welcome treat at check-in. Recommend a stay at this property!

Room Tip: Stay on the tenth floor!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleased32414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello Pleased 32414
Thanks for staying with DoubleTree by hilton Modesto. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and team members. We are here to provide the best possible service & experience to our valued guest. We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 945 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was recomended to us by a local friend for its central location. This could not be more true as all places of interest or best restaurants are in walking distance.
My colleague and I enjoyed the very friendly andcompetent check in service and the affordable and quick valet parking. The rooms are spacious and very well equipped.
In the relatively small bar we enjoed excellent barfood and lovely service. Also the wine recomendations were helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovotherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Ovotherm from Vienna,Austria.
Thanks for staying with us. It's great to hear that you were very happy with your stay, and that you enjoy DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto and Surrounding area's of Modesto. We want to ensure that every guest feels welcome and gets a top notch service while in town. It sounds like you did. Please keep us in mind when you return to the area in the future.
Thanks & Look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto,California.
Pervez Khan
Director of Rooms Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Overall this was a pleasant stay while I was in Modesto for a Photography conferece held at the hotel. Rooms were nice and big, very clean, and with all the amenities you would expect. Probably the best place to stay when in Modesto. The staff was friendly and helpful. Bar and Food Service was up to a fine standard. Definitely would stay again next time I am in Modesto.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Top Executive
Thanks for the business and kind remarks regarding the DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto and team members. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night after attending an event held at the hotel. For it's age (15 years +) it's in good condition. The decor is dated, but the rooms are of a reasonable size, clean, and the beds are comfortable. AAA rate was just under 100/night and that very fair for the area. The front desk staff was hit and miss. Checking in the service was mediocre at best....on of the 2 people working did not look up as she told me to get in the other line, she was not checking anyone in. The gentleman at the desk in the morning was great, professional and helpful.
Parking is across the street in a city lot, there is a bridge above the street to get to the hotel. Take your stub with you, the hotel validates the parking so it's free.
Restaurant and bar on site, the breakfast buffet was pricey but very good. business center and pool also. this hotel is within walking distance to fast food and sit down restaurants, movie theaters, and the Gallo Center theater.
Access to Hwy 99 is not simple, but not too difficult.
At the rate we paid I'd recommend the Doubletree, I'ts positives far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest IKM 55
Thanks for the business and your nicely written feed back. We appreciate your business and good words about our property. We apologize for any delay in our check in process and as such we have taken corrective action. We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, California. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Presently in room 423, for business. Location is great for closeness to the office. Staff is very courteous. Now to the in sight correctable issues. The toliet seat is old the paint is peeling off and ruff surfaces top and bottom sides. Bottom side of the toilet seat is urine stain. I feel this issues could have been correct by any level of the staff, I don't feel it would have taken a phone call too far up the food chain. Second issuse relates to the toilet seat, the bathroom has that musty urine smell. Third issue, constant heavy smell of cigarette in the room. This problem is for Kole Siefken (General Manager) to direct the Engineers to take care of this matter because the smell is not contained in this one room. In the post i will forego the carpet issue

Room Tip: Ask front desk to view the room before taking it. You can do this at any reputable establishment. We...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business & feedback.We appreciate your honest feedback about your recent stay with us. We see that the freshness of the room at our hotel was a problem during your stay. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority, and we’ve shared your comments with our team to resolve this situation. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, and we hope you’ll give us another chance the next time you travel to the area. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with a wonderful staff who makes you feel welcome the minute you walk in the door. As other reviewers have mentioned, the train is close by but never bothered us in the least. The breakfast buffet and dining options were quite nice and there is an outdoor room off the restaurant for smokers and cigar aficionados to enjoy. We were able to easily walk to several fine restaurants in the area. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the railroad tracks.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrindaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business and feed back. Our staff is the friendliest and most accomodating to our guest. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto. We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed at the "DoubleTree" by Hilton in Modesto, CA on 8/7/2012. It was my first time there. All of the staff were excellent as was my room. The hotel is located near restaurants (a plus) and railroad tracks (a minus). I thought that they should of had a safe in my closet (they didn't) and a free breakfast (but then again that would probably just increase the room price). My room was $116.10 --- and when adding taxes totaled $126.65 which I know would have been a lot more had I been staying in places other than Modesto. Actually I sort of liked Modesto.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kole_Siefken, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Hi Dwain C,

Thanks for staying with us. It's great to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, and that you enjoy Modesto. We want to ensure that every guest feels welcome and has everything they need while in town. It sounds like you did. Please keep us in mind when you return to the area in the future.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
285 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range: $124 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing