We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manager Refuses to take their own coupon” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Modesto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Modesto
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Manager Refuses to take their own coupon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been traveling between CA and Virginia for the last 3 months. I've been staying at Quality Inn due to it's great bed for my back. I've used the Coupon they offer in the Hotel Coupons book off and on. Sometimes I have paid full price. Even used them one time for my free night stay due to my many points I have with Choice Privileges company. Today when I checked out the Manager saw I had used the coupon they offer. He told me only low class people use coupons and told me that I cannot come back to their motel using a coupon ever again. I said even in a month from now. He said NEVER. Then I said so now I'm low class for using YOUR coupon and you don't want my business. He said that is correct. I am VERY ANGRY. I'm alone and never cause problems. I've spent much money at this one motel where I could have gone to many others in Modesto. The coupon DOES NOT state anywhere on it that I can only use a coupon once in my life. The Exit to this Motel for Kansas Ave. was even closed due to construction. Yet, I still found my way there. The rooms are often moldy and have many defects. Yet, in the past I've had great experiences there with the Staff and enjoy the bed. By this Manager calling me low class for using a coupon he offers and telling me I can only come there if I pay the full price on a room makes me feel very bad for every spending money there. Managers name is Surgh Chandra.

Room Tip: Don't give them your business. No matter how good the deal sounds they are not to be trusted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    22
    8
    27
See reviews for
16
29
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was horrible we were moved twice and still had the same problem in the third. Was total not worth the money. not to mention the creaky floors dirty beds and cigarette burned sheets. there was a hole in the door and the wall. bathroom needed some work done. overall will never stay again.

Room Tip: there are better hotels in modesto
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Modesto hotels

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the most awful hotel I have ever had the displeasure of staying. The linens on the bed had multiple cigarette burn holes in it as did the side chairs in the room. The desk chair cushions were literally ripped to shreds. Burn holes and stains on the carpet in the rooms and in the hallway. I would be extremely embarrased to even attempt to rent a room like this to anyone in the condition it was in. We completed the survey and left at the fron desk shortly after we arrived, but no one contacted us about the issues we mentioned. Understanding the rate was only $60, so our expectations were not high. However, I wouldn't stay there agin if THEY PAID ME!

Room Tip: Do not stay here for any reason
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed from 8/3/12 to 8/5/12 via an Orbitz reservation, when I checked in I waited another hour before my room was ready. I noted flaws in my room, from the screen missing to stained chairs and burns on the lamp and bed spread. I don't smoke, but I requested a smoking room-there was a no smoking symbol on the door. I noted the outlet under the desk did not hold the plug (which sparked when touched). I let the hotel know about the dirty walls in the bathroom (bad paint job too) and the hole in the shower wall (forgot to mention the poor water preasure). I also thought it was strange that the coffee pot was in the bathroom. When I presented this all upon check out, I was told I could have changed rooms. Customers are in the hotel for vacation changing rooms is not something that should have to be done! I signed off on a charge of 157.95 and my card was charged 179.69. Personally I think I should have been discounted for the flaws, the extra charge has not been explained. The lady I talked to was kind, I may have to talk to someone else and if it is who I believe it to be he is was unprofessional. The environment should be stress free. On a positive note, I did like the comfort of the bed, sheets and pillows. I also think the cleaning staff was nice, but overworked, as I only saw 4 ladys for all the cleaning that needed to be done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We paid $65 for one night using debit card. Next day card was charged $80, $40, and $30. Manager was unprofessional. Offered no valid reason for unauthorized charges and required us to pay cash in order to reimburse the charges back to our card. Rediculous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_Modesto, General Manager at Quality Inn Modesto, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear nelspm,

First of all I'd like to apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. I spent 15 minutes with you trying to explain to you what you were seeing on your account. However when profanity is used, the communication has broken down and that is why I refused to explain things further. As you may recall on the day we spoke, I explained to you the charge for $80 and $30 are authorization holds on your card. In the hotel industry when you rent a room with a credit card, the hotel usually puts a pending charge on your card for the amount of the room plus a percentage extra for any incidentals. The charge for $40 was for taking towels from the room, which was promptly refunded back to you once you once the towels were returned. We did not charge anything to refund that amount. Nevertheless, we wish you best of luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Walked in with a coupon and got a great deal. The woman at the front desk was wonderful. She even brought towels out to the pool for us!

The room had more than I expected for the price. Not only was it huge, but there was a fridge and microwave and dish tv. The room was clean.

Breakfast the next morning was great considering the price of the room. Bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, and more.

The hotel advertises a walk in special rate of $44 (same as the coupon). Unfortunately the manager does not stand by it.

We decided to stay a second night. Unfortunately there was a different employee at the desk (manager?). He first agreed to a second night at the same rate, then decided we needed to have another coupon. When we returned with a coupon, he decided we couldn't use a coupon two nights in a row. I was very upset after all this running around, and the fact that he lied to us. Because of this I will NEVER RETURN.

It's a shame because the room was a great value. Just don't leave your room at night (not the greatest location) and only check in if the nice woman (wish I got her name) is working the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silly_Sarah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

even though the staff was friendly. The pool was okay. The hotel turns off half the power in the rooms at night.

Room Tip: The staff was helpful and quite friendly. The price was good. They turn the circuit breakers off in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Modesto

Property: Quality Inn Modesto
Address: 500 Kansas Avenue, Modesto, CA 95351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Modesto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located off Highway 99 in the heart of the downtown area. This Modesto, CA hotel is close to many area points of interest, including the Gallo Arts Center, Turlock Lake, the Vintage Faire Mall, E. & J. Gallo Winery and Modesto Junior College. The Modesto City-County Airport is only three miles away.The hotel is centrally located 90 miles from Yosemite National Park, San Francisco, Sacramento and Fresno.There are a wide variety of restaurants and several shops located in the area. JC's Cafe is located on the premises and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests of this Modesto, CA hotel will enjoy many superior amenities including free continental breakfast, free local calls, free coffee and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate the business center with access to a printer/fax machine.In addition to standard amenities, the hotel offers luxurious rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and hair dryers. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available.Guest laundry facilities are located on the property or guest convenience. Well-lit truck and car parking is also available.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn hotel provides spacious accommodations, friendly customer service and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Modesto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Quality Inn Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing