We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience and Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Town House Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Upon check in initial impression of hotel was very pleased. However upon returning to room after dinner our impression changed. Standing at door to our room my wife leaned against the door (while waiting for me to get key out of my wallet) and the door swung open. We checked to make sure nothing was missing, nothing was thank goodness (we had left our laptop, camera and cell phones in the room) and then IMMEDIATELY called the front desk and were less than pleased by the response. We were told basically that the hotel is aware of the issue (not sure if just the room we were in or not). If the hotel was aware of the issue with our room, WHY WOULD THEY PUT US IN THERE? After getting off the phone with front desk we tested the door numerous times (slamming door, shutting it gently but firmly, etc...) and always was able to open door by just moving handle and leaning into door. Upon check out the next morning I again spoke to the person at the front desk and the reponse was similar to the one we received at night, Oops sorry. Not the reaction or response we were hoping for. if inside the room double lock the door However that's not possible when leaving the room. So you can see why we are unsure if we would return to this hotel. If you plan on staying here make sure you check the doors when you leave. We did the whole turn handle and pull on door to make sure it is closed. But all it takes is a little pressure on the door and it opened. SO BE CAREFUL DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING IN ROOM.
Also not all of the ammenities listed on the hotel website were accurate. Not a huge deal for us but website said 3 HBO channels and 1 Cinemax channel, However in reality only 1 HBO channel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Town House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

The Best Western is near Central Modesto, CA. The Hotel is clean, convenient and reasonably priced. But we aware, the cable is limited to a few cable chanels and HBO 3, as well as local chanels. Otherwise, reasonably clean. I would recommend!

The only noise I heard were footsteps upstairs during the weekend, but that was it.

All restaurants, shopping are located on McHenry St (J turns into McHenry). Farmer's Market on Saturdays across Hotel featuring local artists, crafters, veggies, fruits, breads, etc. Bring Maps, GPS does not work in California. Great location and within two hours of San Francisco, Sacramento, Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur, Yosemite.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigger2_87114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

It's worth the money but make no mistake, it's not a Hilton.

This is basically a 1960's Motel 6 that has been fluffed. It even smells like a Motel 6, must be the disinfectant that they use. When they redecorated the hotel a few years back they slapped a few marble slabs on the sink and changed the shower fixtures and that was it. You can see the Spackle work everywhere. The bed is comfortable. The heater/AC works but is really loud.

The staff has always been really accommodating and friendly no matter the hour.

There is free WiFi which is great.

I stay here because my elderly father lives a block from here in a senior building. The area is rife with homeless that have become increasingly aggressive as of late.

There are usually people partying until all hours on the weekends which is usually only when I can stay. Get an upper floor because you can hear every step a person makes above you. Get a room AWAY from the street that faces the Library it can be loud on that side. If you travel with a lot of gadgets that need to be plugged in bring an extension cord.

Fire Hazard: The coffee maker, refrigerator, AND microwave are plugged into 99cent store extension cord that shares an outlet with the wall mounted hair dryer. (see picture) For safety sake I unplug the fridge when I use the microwave or coffee maker.

I would recommend this hotel for someone who needs to stay in the neighborhood for a reason, but don't expect too much, and it'll be worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LA-Backdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We went for a visit when granddaughter was born. Stayed there when we were moving up to Oregon. They accomodated our pet.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
Thank grandmaeasterbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Unfortunately I didn't take much notice of a previous reviewer who said that room parties at the weekend can be bothersome..... We were woken at 2:30 am on a Saturday and kept awake for over an hour by a large group of people who were shouting to each other and walking up and down past the rooms.
On the plus side the room was clean and staff friendly. Other minuses were the telephone was completely dead and the air conditioner gave off a chemical smell when switched on.
I would probably avoid this hotel in future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

You know, Best Westerns can vary a lot, from dives to almost boutique-style hotels. This one is an outstanding gem. It's my new go-to motel when I'm driving along Hwy. 99. It's also close enough to Yosemite NP to stay here the night before / after a park adventure.

* Staff were so helpful and understanding -- We checked in after 1am, requested a late check-out and even left our car parked in the lot while we had brunch downtown. Everything was no problem for the staff, and check-in/-out was smooth and efficient.

* Renovated rooms were spacious, well set up for business or leisure travel. All the tech -- flat-screen TVs, wi-fi etc -- worked extremely well and the bathrooms were huge.

* The price was more than fair for what you get.

* The location, right downtown, was not noisy like you might expect. A pretty good lunch spot, Harvest Moon Restaurant, is only 3 blocks away (don't miss the sweet potato fries).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank california_vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

After a long day of travelling on the motorbike, we arrived in Modesto, not knowing what to expect.
We stayed at the Best Western Town House Lodge, which is located in a very convenient downtown area. There is a Victorian Mansion, Public Library and parks nearby. A Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings is worth a visit. Service was first class and the rooms are recently renovated in a boutique style which are comparable to some very pricey hotels I have stayed at. Restaurants, theatres, shops are close by.
On a return visit I would like the time to see more of the galleries and cultural events.
The downside would be the appearance of some people drinking and loitering in the downtown area but maybe that comes with any city. However, the hotel is first-rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
285 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#16 of 20 in Modesto
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Town House Lodge

Address: 909 16th St, Modesto, CA 95354-1117 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Modesto
#3 Green Hotel in Modesto
Price Range: $83 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town House Hotel Modesto
Best Western Modesto
Modesto Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing