We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but near ice machine...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Town House Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
426 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice room but near ice machine...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Since we booked on Hotwire we only got a first floor room near the ice machine and breakfast room... So little bit noisy during the evening and early morning...

The room was well decorated and enough light... Nice accent round mirror and long square mirrors...

Good wifi Internet and great LG flat screen TV... Comfy king bed !

Many restaurants nearby but were all closed because 4th of July...

Nice clean pool and clean property...

The front desk clerk was new and not very knowledgeable of the area... Even forgot to give me back my driver license :-)

Great experience overall; thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback!
I understand the ice machine and breakfast room can be a bit noisy, especially when you are staying in a room right next to both! Sorry about that!

Next time, we'll be sure to rent you a room where you can get a nice and quiet rest.

By the way, our newly hired front desk clerk is doing MUCH better! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    75
    52
    24
    5
See reviews for
53
56
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Best Western Town House Lodge near the center of down town Modesto, California.
A beautiful area known for it's history and location where George Lucas's movie, American Graffiti in 1973 was made.
The hotel nicely remodeled, renovated. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows in the two double bed room we'd stay in. The a/c worked great, thank god since it was triple digit heat.
Room was clean well appointed with furniture, maybe even to much furniture.
It had all you can need, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board.
The bath room was good size, nice big shower no tub, one sink, the toilet was way to small in a small space crammed in like and after though, that and the shower door were the two things that showed it's age. WiFi was very strong, but we were across the drive way from the office. The breakfast is standard for the Best Western chain. It was easy access in and out. Parking is free and a lot of it 2 story outside access with stairs. All in All we had a good two night stay in a better than average hotel for a good price through the BW site. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarcKloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you!

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Townhouse Lodge the next time you are in Modesto. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Older Best Western but in excellent shape. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Everything was in order. Nice hot breakfast - scrambled eggs, waffles, yogurt, breads, cheese, cereal, sausage, etc. The breakfast room was monitored and kept clean. Across from the county library downtown. They only have showers if that is a concern. It seemed quiet for sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unsworth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your response!
I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Accommodations were clean and serviceable - which is what I expected (I was expecting a good value - not luxury). The service was without fault. Although we didn't use it, the motel also has a pleasant pool. The location is also a plus, as it is central. Breakfast is not memorable, but there are other options within a short walk if you prefer. Have stayed here several times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wormtongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you!

It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Modesto. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The only thing we would compain about is their attitude towards breakfast. They ran out of coffee and when I reported it the woman said she just refilled it and she seemed annoyed to be interrupted. I think she was on her way for something else. The breakfast area is limited considering the number of rooms available. You need your room key to access the area. The facility is adjacent to the McHenry Mansion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am disappointed we failed to give you the service and consideration we strive for with all our guests--the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investigated your comments and will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced to not happen again. My staff will also be made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were on our way back to San Franciscio and pin in the map caused us to stay in Modesto.

Not an immediately attractive area or town but it was a convenient stopping point.

We found this hotel using Tripadviser.

The hotel or motel was exactly what we expected. Tripadviser directions got us to the motel easily. The check in lady was helpful and we chose a ground floor room. The room was clean and comfortable, had all the facilities such as refrigerator and microwave and airconditioning that we didn't use so we can't comment on how noisey it may be (it was April and not too hot at night).

The bed was comfortable and we had a good night. We did get some noise early in the morning from some elephants who had the room above us and the bins being emptied.

The breakfast didn't have as much choice as other BWs we stayed at but was OK and set us off for the day.

Its location was excellent for us as we like to be able to walk to somewhere to have dinner and this motel was about 3 minutes walk from Dewz, a great restaurant, and there were other eating options close by.

No complaints.

Room Tip: If you have much luggage remember there is no elevator to the upper floor rooms. In the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
BrianTJ,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our hotel.

I am passing on your comments and concerns, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Town House Lodge the next time you are in Modesto. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
2.9 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#15 of 20 in Modesto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Town House Lodge
Address: 909 16th St, Modesto, CA 95354-1117 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Modesto
#3 Green Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town House Hotel Modesto
Best Western Modesto
Modesto Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing