We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Town House Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose to stay primarily at BW on this trip south which we made with another couple. This one was not the easiest to find & without our GPS not sure we would have found it. It is in the downtown core of Modesto. We were greeted by Nancy who was very pleasant & helpful. Parking spot for each vehicle but these really were pretty tight especially for our larger size p/u. This was a two story outside entrance motel (rather than hotel). We were on bottom floor & both we and our friends, could hear people walking quite loudly in their units above our rooms. There was a complimentary hot breakfast which was ok, but the food was very slow in being restocked & they were low on some items when we got there around 8 AM so we didn't have a big choice & fresh eggs etc. didn't come out until we had finished what was available. We had a decent sleep tho' and beds were comfortable. We arrived later in the afternoon around 4 or later & our units had just been cleaned but not very thoroughly. Our shower had not been cleaned and there was a used facecloth & soap still on the the shower tray. I guess we should have reported it but didn't notice it until the next morning when we went to take a shower. I just left them on back of toilet with a large note. I don't think that we would choose to stay at this BW again in the future

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor as we could hear the people above our room clomping around (probably ju...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

On behalf of the entire team here at Best Western, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay.

I agree, the location of our hotel can be a bit difficult to find due to some of the downtown streets being one-way. Plus, our highways can get a bit hectic. And unfortunately, the small parking spaces are something we have had to deal with since the property was first built.

In the past month we have hired several new employees. Some are new breakfast attendants, and some are new to the housekeeping department. Since your response here at Trip Advisor, we have taken immediate action by speaking with each employee, and reminding them of the Best Western guidelines that must be followed in every department.

Barbes, your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Town House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Service was great, one bedside lamp did not work, called the front desk and it was replaced in a few minutes. Room was nice and clean. Quite a few restaurants close by and not too far from center of town. Would definitely stay here if we travel this way again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CLEMENCE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We really hope you decide to stay with us the next time you are in the area. Thank you very much for your review on our hotel, we greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the BW Town House Lodge during a long trip across the US to Canada. It was comfortable, a good night's sleep, very clean and had staff who were friendly and helpful, especially as we had to find our way through town to avoid an early morning accident on the freeway. Bedroom decor is particularly well done. This is an older hotel but has been very well renovated.
(Ignore the directions from BW reservations, as they are wrong - and google the address instead.)
The location in Modesto is really good and there is a very cute store immediately opposite the hotel, which all women will love to browse.
Will definitely stay there again on our next trip south.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DALE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you were able to explore a bit of the downtown area in which we are located. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We enjoyed this motel (one night). Facilities are a bit aged but comfortable. We found the staff to be pleasant and very helpful.
The motel is in a nice area area with nearby parks. Some OK restaurants are a short drive away. Breakfast was adequate but not great. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Can be difficult to find due to small sign on moterl.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traipser_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

All of us here at Best Western Town House Lodge greatly appreciate your response. We hope to do business with you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

second time I stayed here, So I decide to write a review, A older motel, but they have kept it up, the rooms were very clean, the front dest people were friendly, The breakfast is good, and they kept it clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your response. We really appreciate it. We hope you contact us about staying with us in the future; we have made several changes in our rooms and have upgraded several of our amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I'd have given this motel four stars but for the ruined night's sleep caused by several groups of young people who partied in rooms above ours. Our two rooms in the back part of the motel were clean and comfortable, and should have been quiet. The motel's location in downtown Modesto was convenient to Hwy. 99 and near several nice pubs and restaurants. But geez Louise, when you know you have to drive hundreds of miles the next day, it's miserable to wake to the sounds of stomping feet, loud music, yelling, and bottles clinking. After an hour of trying to sleep I called the front office to complain, but nobody answered the phone. However, someone must have told the obnoxious people to pipe down because it did suddenly get quiet. The next morning the person in the office acknowledged that I wasn't the only person unhappy about the noise, and said they planned to have a chat with the offenders (who were staying a second night, argghh). I'd be willing to try this motel again; however, I'd ask for a second floor room. The price was great (and they honored the price listed in Trip Advisor), owners/managers friendly, and overall the motel was satisfactory.

Room Tip: The higher, the better--and ask about the management's policies regarding late-night partying.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Mr. Nansfield,
I apologize for the ruckus that you experienced throughout the night. The surrounding restaurants and pubs tend to get a bit rowdy, which usually results in rowdy guests. We are in the process of re-flooring the upstairs rooms and we hope this will minimize the squeaking/stomping from above. Fortunately, the property is small enough for us to acknowledge our noisy guests and have them adhere to the quiet hours, which are after 10pm. We do appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Carolina Nava
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As many of the other reviews have stated, this place is probably just fine for a one or two night stop-over on your way to somewhere else. Odds are if you are reading this review that is most likely what you will be doing, so I fully recommend this property in that regard. However if, like me, you are unfortunate enough to actually have spend three weeks in Modesto, CA, I’d look elsewhere. This is by no means a bad hotel; it is fairly clean, well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful, and it’s conveniently located a short drive from HWY 99 (which will get you out of Modesto – hallelujah). The problems with this place stem mostly from the fact that they seem utterly unprepared for a guest who stays longer than a day or two. I certainly did not need housekeeping every day, but when I did let them in (every three days or so), they seemed more and more at ease with not doing much of anything. My sheets weren’t changed, no new toilet paper, no new coffee, etc. Small details in the grand scheme (well except for the sheet thing, that was a little gross), but it certainly grew tiresome after a while. Additional irks included the squeaky floor in the room above me, the fact that the continental breakfast, while decent, NEVER changed, and random and unannounced power washing of windows. All in all, I’d stay here again, but not for more than a day or two.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

On behalf of the entire staff, we apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We have just recently hired new housekeepers that are still getting used to the regular procedures of servicing rooms that are rented for long periods of time. We have addressed this issue to the entire staff, and will make sure that it does not happen again.

We are also in the process of getting our ceilings and floors re-done in the building where the guest had encountered squeaking from the floor above.

Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey. Your satisfaction is important to us
and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for you, and our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
2.9 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#16 of 20 in Modesto
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Town House Lodge

Address: 909 16th St, Modesto, CA 95354-1117 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Modesto
#3 Green Hotel in Modesto
Price Range: $83 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town House Hotel Modesto
Best Western Modesto
Modesto Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing