We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay for Business Traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Modesto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Modesto
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay for Business Traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

This hotel is right alongside the 99 freeway and thus outward facing rooms can have considerable noise. Free wireless Internet access, a well-appointed desk space and a good-sized room made working in the hotel room a breeze. Second floor rooms also have vaulted ceilings that make the already decent floorspace feel that much roomier. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the week I stayed and the Manager's social in the evening was a pleasant way to sit outside in the quiet courtyard and meet my fellow travellers. I do recommend venturing out to Downtown for excellent meals. Clayton's and The Nines were excellent places for locally-sourced produce and friendly service. Try to avoid the area south of downtown if you can. It's very industrial and seems like it might be unsafe after dark. Overall, the Courtyard and Modesto in general were a pleasant surprise!

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Freeway noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunta70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    44
    19
    7
See reviews for
64
71
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

After reading the reviews of Modesto and Turlock hotels, the Courtyard seemed to be the best option (especially at half the price of the Doubletree Modesto). The room assigned to me was on the corner of the building nearest the freeway (it's just across the road) and when I asked for a quieter room, the desk agent changed it easily and immediately. The room was on the second floor in the back and was nearly silent. The ceiling sloped upward from the windows so at the highest point the ceiling was 12-14 feet! This made the room feel enormous. Generally the room was clean but not spotless--some toothpaste spots on the mirror, mildew underneath the peeling decals on the tub, food remnants on the TV remote. Otherwise everything was in fine working order. There is also a snack bar with sandwiches, wine, beer, and other goodies at the front desk for after-hours. I didn't bring my laptop but there is *free* wireless access throughout the hotel.

There are loads of restaurants and shops nearby and the freeway entrance is less than a block away. I saw no train tracks around the hotel (the reviews for other hotels in Modesto mentioned train noise as a serious issue). Overall if you're looking to stay in the area, this is probably your best bet, especially at a cheap rate.

  • Liked — Convenient location, big room
  • Disliked — Confusing parking lots and hotel layout
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

First off, the public restrooms were closed, and they used two rooms as public restrooms. When I checked in at around 11pm, I found that the room I was assigned to (room 106) was in between these two public restrooms. I was disappointed to know that the gentleman at the front put me in between two rooms used as restrooms (rooms 104 and 108, I believe), where people would be slamming the door at all hours of the night. Since I had been traveling all day and did not want to be faced with the extra noise, I went back to the front counter to ask the gentleman if our rooms could be switched.

He argued with me about changing a room, which I was shocked about, since the hotel was not very crowded. After a few minutes of politely attempting to explain why I wanted a room away from extra noise, he relented. But, instead of offering a room on another side of the facility, he only offered a room that was across from the rooms used as public restrooms (room 109). I explained that I did not think this room was much better and if there was any way I could get another room, pay extra, get a room with a smaller bed, etc., then I would do it. He finally did offer another room on the other side of the facility (room 219).

Upon entering the room at the other side of the facility, it was very fragrant of mildew. Although I wanted to change to another room, I figured that at least this room was quiet, and to avoid asking for another room, decided to rough it out. I must note that the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet, so I was very thankful for that. But unfortunately, there was no working ice machine in the hotel and the night manager had to get ice from the restaurant portion.

All in all, I am very disappointed with Marriott, because usually I have had great experiences for both business and vacation. But based on this experience I do not believe I will be staying at another Marriott facility for some time.

  • Liked — The bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — Horrible staff, dank room smell, run down location, high prices
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here, seriously!!!! Plenty of other options that are much, much better!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank orangepez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2006

We stayed at nine hotels in seven states this month and I can easily say that this was the most expensive and the worst experience. While the room was clean and decent and everything functioned, the place is definitely run-down and far below any other Courtyard I've stayed at. The bed, however, was excellent. Our major problem was the service; the front desk staff was horrible and they wouldn't even listen to my complaints. To make matters worse, upon returning home I found that they had overcharged my credit card. They did issue a credit when I called, but the entire experience has put me off this hotel. I travel to this area at least twice a year and I can honestly say that even the Microtel in Ceres is a FAR better hotel than this one.

  • Liked — Great bed
  • Disliked — Staff service
  • Tips/Secrets — Check your credit card statement very closely
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, cA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

My family always stays in nice hotels, so on a recent visit to the town of Modesto for a convention, I was quite concerned to discover the Courtyard Marriott was the #1 rated hotel/motel on tripadvisor. With no other options, we booked 2 rooms there. WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE!!

STAFF: Absolutely wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. After bringing our luggage to the front desk, we discovered we had to get back into our cars and drive around to the back of the motel to get to our rooms. One of the workers, who appeared to be cleaning, offered to take our bags and meet us at our rooms. When we arrived in less than 5 minutes, the bags were neatly placed in our rooms and the young man was no where to be found so we could give him a tip. The next day, we ran into him and chided him for not waiting for his tip. He took it and was EXTREMELY grateful. What a pleasant surprise.

ROOMS: Extremely clean and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were very updated and perhaps had been recently updated? We've stayed at 4-star hotels with accomodations that weren't as nice.

The convention we attended was held at the Doubletree in Modesto and we heard the rooms weren't very nice at the Doubletree. We have to return to Modesto next year and will definitely stay at the Marriott again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfortableness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank citygirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

Stayed one night in July 2006. Front desk staff was helpful, room was clean and comfortable, pool was nice.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperDad63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

A nice, average motel, clean and comfortable, but with the upgraded linens, it's a real steal. I'm a pillow snob and these were the best I've experienced, even at some high-end "5-star" hotels. If you like comfy, cozy beds, you'll love this place!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modesto hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Modesto

Property: Ramada Modesto
Address: 1720 Sisk Rd, Modesto, CA 95350-2500 (Formerly The Modesto Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Modesto
#3 Business Hotel in Modesto
#3 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Modesto 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Modesto offers elegance and comfort in the heart of Modesto, with easy access to all the area attractions. Take in the local theatre scene at the Gallo Arts Center. History buffs will love a visit to the McHenry Mansion, built in the early 1880s, and a visit to the McHenry Museum. George Lucas Plaza honors the film American Graffiti, filmed in Modesto, with a bronze statue of George Lucas. Take in a baseball game at the John Thurman Field, and have family fun at Boomers Amusement Park. Outdoor activities await you at Woodward Reservoir Regal Park and Modesto Reservoir, both less than 30 minutes from the Modesto Hotel. The Olive Garden, In and Out Burger, and Black Bear Diner are all adjacent to the Hotel. Guests of the smoke free Modesto Hotel can start each day with a free breakfast, get in a workout at the on-site fitness center, then take a dip in the outdoor pool and hot tub. This pet friendly hotel also offers free high speed internet access, and 3 meeting rooms. Parking is always free. The rooms offer elegance, class and comfort. With a modern and fun motif, you're sure to enjoy any stay with us, whether you're here on business or for some fun. In-room coffee, complimentary toiletries, premium television and climate control ensure that you'll sleep soundly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Modesto Hotel Modesto
Courtyard Modesto
Modesto Courtyard
Modesto Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing