We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Dinners With High Calories”
Review of Bella Italia

Bella Italia
Ranked #2 of 501 Restaurants in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Modesto
Level Contributor
537 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Spicy Dinners With High Calories”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

As older folks, we are less tolerant of very spicy foods than we used to be. This restaurant has very spicy pizzas and ravioli dishes. If you don't like spicy, this restaurant may not be for you. We clearly remembered the meal more than we wanted to until the next morning.

The restaurant deserves the very good rating because the quality of the food served is above average. People who like large portions and spicy food should love this place. We ordered a ravioli dish and the smallest size pizza. The two of us shared both dishes and ended up taking home half the pizza with no room for dessert. The toppings on the pizza were in generous portions. The ravioli dish had a delicious rich sauce.

The meal was served with a generous helping of complimentary soft homemade bread, which tasted a bit salty. It was served with butter laced with spices that seemed a bit hot.

The service was prompt and efficient, the wait staff congenial. The restrooms were clean and well stocked.

The restaurant is located in an older strip mall building with lots of free parking near the front door. The interior appears pleasant and fairly well maintained, a little on the dark romantic side, with Italian music in the back ground.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    68
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced
Level Contributor
346 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Eat!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A group of us went here for lunch today. Perfect Italian food! I had their Marinara pasta. But got to taste the alfredo sauce as well. Both were fantastic. We have been here a couple times already and you can bet we will return again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiG95340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love to come here. I've only eaten at the Coffee Road Restaurant. Nice atmosphere, very attentive service. The food is very good as well. I absolutely love the bread! It is delicious. We've had many a special dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRIPSTER077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great customer service! The best italian restaurant in Modesto! Love the garlic bread!! So much better than the chain restaurants like Olive Garden. Nice atmosphere but often quite busy around peak hours. They have another location on Patterson Road in Riverbank that is much quieter, has less traffic, a bigger space & feels more comfortable - I would give that location 5 stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Supporting local Italian!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Everything is made from scratch. The garlic bread is amazing, but will stay on your breath for 24 hours! Still worth it! Really good chicken Marsala. That's our "go to "place for girls night out and the staff is very attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia also viewed

 

Been to Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing