We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great if You Actually Use Business Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not Great if You Actually Use Business Center”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I was actually going to give this place 2 stars, but I switched to the Courtyard Marriott, and I realized that, comparatively, this place is better. I switched hotels in the middle of my business trip because of a couple of issues I was having. Nothing that was such a huge deal, explained below.

Actually, most of the staff there were very pleasant and helpful, but I went down to the business center (i.e., small room with 1 computer and printer) to print out some documents I needed for the next day when I found out that they do not have adobe acrobat so I could not open any of my pdf files to print. Helpful trick I discovered: if you email your documents to your gmail account and open it in html, you can print out the document as a "picture" (so you don't need adobe acrobat), you'll just have the web address also print at the bottom of your documents.

The big printer they have says it also has fax and scan abilities. Later that day, when I went downstairs to scan a document, I found out, the scan function does not work (I was informed it was not programed in yet at the front desk when I went to inquire). I then tried to fax something - you guessed it, that does not work either. I went to the front desk again and they said they would fax it for me, which was fine, but still....
The printer works well for printing, but that small room does get very hot if you print a lot. Printer also does a good job of copying. Had to ask to borrow stapler from front desk (though I understand why they wouldn't keep one in the business center since it could get stolen a lot).

Need your room key to get into business center. I like this touch - I think only twice was there someone there when I needed to use it....and that's out of about 10 times I was in there. You can access it 24 hours.

The noise from the freeway was a bit bothersome and a couple of times huge trucks (they sounded more like trains) went through in the middle of the night. I was in room 328. I hate switching rooms so I didn't ask to switch.

Free bottle of water and snack at check-in. No restaurant or room service. Small snack shop next to front desk that had drinks and chips, etc.

Microwave, fridge, safe, and nice TV in room. To open the drawer that has the microwave and fridge, pull it towards you (don't try to slide it open like I did). For a while, I just thought it was a locked drawer. ;^)

Free wireless. Free breakfast that is pretty okay - sausage patties and packaged yogurt good. Fruit they have at breakfast is bananas.

Not including tax, $103 for Sunday night, $109/night for Monday and Tuesday nights.

In sum, nothing to write home about, just a couple of setbacks for business travelers, but basically fine place to stay.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DC_Traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
DC_Traveler88,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your most recent stay with us. I also want to thank you for explaining that our facility is in fact superior to that of the Courtyard in town. I want to apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay as well. Some things, like the faxing capabilities have been restricted to be done at front desk due to various issues we faced in the past with children and non guests using our services; however, in regards to Adobe and scanning functions, we have taken measures to get these items fixed and usable for our guests.

As for the room you stayed in having road noise, I again apologize. The next time you are in town for business and hopefully choose to stay with us again, please request a different room. If for any reason you are not happy with the room, our staff will be happy to move to you another room and move your belongings for you. At our hotel, we strive to make sure all guests are happy with their stay; hence, please let us know during your stay if there is anything we can do to make your stay nothing less than perfect.

Despite the minor issues you experienced at our hotel, I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area for business or pleasure.

Again, thank you for writing us a review. Happy Travels!


Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    58
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
55
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is an outstanding hotel with an excellent staff. Jason (front desk clerk) went above and beyond to help me with my business needs. The rooms have everything you need with very comfortable beds. The guest reception that has free beer, wine and snacks is a lovely pressure after a long days work. I travel frequently to North Cali from South Cali and this location is unbeatable. I highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dCaliTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
dCaliTraveler,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto as your Hotel of "Northern California". We appreciate our guests feedback and when guests like yourself leave such positive comments on our staff, it truly makes us work even harder to please each and every one of our guests. I have personally let Jason know of your kind remarks and he is proud to know that guests appreciate his genuine personality. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We hope that the next time you cross the "bridge" from Southern Cal, you choose to stay with us again.

Happy Travels!

Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here with my daughter for a night and was very happy. Clean, comfortable, and very beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessaP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
NessaP84,

Thank you for staying with us while you and your daughter were in the Modesto area. More importantly, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is important to us to hear what our guests have to say about our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will return again soon. Again, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto as your hotel during your travel.

Happy Travels!

Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I am a weekly coast-to-coast traveler and I selected this hotel as my "home away from home" because of the friendliness of the management staff at the time of my inquiry about being a long-term visitor. I could not have asked for a more accommodating staff. Just this past week, they asked how my stay was working and I asked for a change. I asked that they switch out my non-fitted mattress pad on the bed for a fitted one so that my bed would be smooth throughout the night. The hotel did not have any fitted mattress pads so the manager, Brian Lee, went out and bought one just for me. He and Andrea Mundy are the best team in hotel management that I have come across in my years of travel. If you are ever in need of a hotel in the Modesto, CA area, I recommend that you stop in at the Holiday Inn Express Modesto-Salida and allow Brian and/or Andrea to give you a tour.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVRUNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
IVRUNR,

Thank you so much for writing a great review and spreading the word about our service at our Award Winning Hotel. We are honored to know that you appreciate our efforts in making yours as well as all of our other guests experiences at our hotel one to remember. Just as you explained, Brian Lee and Andrea Mundy are two of the greatest in the industry and it truly shows. As a staff vision, we like to treat all of our guests like family; hence, the reason why this hotel is an Award Winner and #1 on TripAdvisor! Again, thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a great review. We look forward to continuing to provide excellent service to you and all of our guests. Happy travels!

Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Highly recommend - out of 15 or so hotels stayed on recent trip, this is definitely the best, and very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roboird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
roboird,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your most recent stay with us. We proud to know that you enjoy your stay with us completely and that you felt you received great value for the price you paid. The next time you are in the Modesto Area, we hope that you chose Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto as your hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon in 2010. Happy New Year and Happy Travels!

Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Check-in was a breeze and the front desk service was very friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. Planatation shutters are a nice touch instead of curtains. The bathrooms are large with plenty of amenities provided such as lotions, body washes, and multiple bottles of shampoo and conditioner. And there are plenty of crisp, white, clean towels as well. The beds are very comfortable and the in-room business center set-up is fantastic for a business traveler who has a lot to plug in, hook up, and spread out. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and flat screen TV. I will definitely stay here again when I come back for business.

Regarding previous comments about Highway 99 being noisy. It is, but no more than most roads you find near hotels. And if you run the fan on the heater/AC at night, it drowns out most everything with "white noise".

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
calebflub,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto as your hotel of choice when traveling on Business in our area. We are happy to know that you enjoy our spacious rooms and amenities especially those that set us apart from other hotels such as our Guest Link for Business Travelers. The next time you stay with us, we would love to show you a demo on the Guest Link to show you how you can connect your electronics such as your Laptop directly to the LCD TV and enjoy your computer as well as TV at the same time! We look forward to accommodating you again soon. Happy New Year and Happy Travels!

Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

One of the newest Holiday Inn Express' we have stayed in.
Newer everything and great staff. The freeway is close and very loud so ask for a room away from it if that is a concern of yours. To get a quiet room we had to trade our king bed for two queens. That was okay.

Depending on the time of year, sometimes you have the AC on all night so you can't hear any outside noises anyway.

Killer breakfast that you expect from Holiday Inn Express.
Biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, cinnamon rolls, milk and juice.
If I ate here every morning I would soon weigh 600 pounds :-)

Thanks for your time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESModesto, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
Longball44,

I apologize for the late response to your review; however, I would liek to thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. I am glad that you enjoyed our Smart Start breakfast and our services that we offered during your stay.

I would like apologize for the freeway; however, I am glad to know that you were moved to another room that met your expectations.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your hotel of choice when you were in the Modesto Area.

Happy Holidays and Happy Travels!

Regards,

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modesto
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
3.7 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#3 of 20 in Modesto
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Modesto-Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Address: 4300 Bangs Ave, Modesto, CA 95356-8707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Modesto
#1 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Exceptional New Hotel in Modesto, CA Nestled in the heart of central California, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Modesto-Salida welcomes you to our outstanding hotel in Modesto, CA. Here, amid the lush San Joaquin Valley, you will discover a warm and hospitable atmosphere. When you are looking for a terrific vacation hotel in Modesto, you will find that our hotel offers you an ideal location to serve as your home away from home. Big League Dreams, the Gallo Center for the Arts and Boomers! are all near by. Corporate guests will appreciate this location when they schedule meetings with nearby companies like Kaiser Permamente, E & J Gallo, Del Monte and the Almond Board of California. If you're flying, our Modesto hotel is close to the Modesto Airport (MOD), only ten miles away from our hotel. No matter what reason brings you to Modesto, this entirely smoke-free hotel will provide you a memorable stay. The beautiful rooms and contemporary style create a personal haven. You can start each day with the complimentary hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and other hot items. Other hotel amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a big outdoor pool with a spa for relaxing. So the next time you're in Modesto, Stay Smart with Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Modesto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida Hotel Modesto
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Modesto-Salida
Holiday Inn Express Modesto
Holiday Inn Modesto
Modesto Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing